THTRE 369 - Fundamentals of Theatrical Design

Fundamentals of Theatrical Design. A collection of resources for beginning designers.

Accuracy, History, & Vocabulary

Artstor: image database -- free registration required (see instructions on left)

  • images of any artifact of human culture: costume/fashion, architecture, interior decoration, graphic design, poster, paintings, photographs, etc.
  • international -- limit by geography, time, & material type
  • use "Advanced Search" to create a group of images
  • use the search box to browse for concepts such as: "art", "time", "physics", "bars", "art deco", "France", etc.

Berg Fashion Library: specific to fashion and costume

  • encyclopedia entries
  • international in scope -- search by geography, time, culture

Oxford Art Online: all of the visual arts & design

  • dictionary & encyclopedia entries, and some images
  • information on art, architecture, costume, interiors, etc.
  • discussions of countries, individual artists/designers, artistic movements, specific techniques

Vogue Archive: digital archive of Vogue magazine

  • covers 1892 - present
  • includes PDF copies of articles with images on topics ranging from fashion/costume to interiors and design trends

Website: Library of Congress -- Prints & Photographs Online

 

ARTstor Database (Images)

ARTstor logo

Artstor is a digital image library of collections comprised of contributions from museums, libraries, and archives. Files can be saved and downloaded for educational purposes. In most cases, these are extremely high resolution images.

To download images, use your Artstor work folder, create image groups, and access password-protected folders, you must be logged into your Artstor account.  Also, make sure your pop-up blocker is turned OFF - Artstor uses pop up windows.

To register with Artstor:

  1. Go to the K-State Libraries Home Page, mouse over "Research" and select, "Databases."
  2. Select "A" and scroll down to click "Artstor"
  3. On the next page, again in the top right corner, you will see the option to "Register"
  4. Click on "Register" and you will receive a small form -- Enter your K-State e-mail address and assign yourself a password, when finished click "submit"
  5. Once your password is set, click on "Log In"

Artstor Classifications related to Theatre Design:

  • Decorative Arts, Utilitarian Objects and Interior Design
  • Fashion, Costume and Jewelry
  • Graphic Design and Illustration
  • Performing Arts (including Performance Art)

Sample Artstor Collections related to Theatre:

  • Carnegie Arts of the United States
  • Historical Scenic Design (Alexander Adducci)
  • Library of Congress
  • Magnum Photos: Contemporary Photojournalism
  • World War I and II Posters and Postcards (University of Minnesota Libraries)
  • Victoria and Albert Museum Collection