Primary Engineering Indexes and Databases
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings, including publications available through ScienceDirect. Searches can easily be limited by subject area, year, document type, etc.
Provides full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics published through the IEEE and IEE Society. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) publications.
Web of Science
Web of Science: the online version of Science Citation Index. References on a broad scope of science and technology topics will be found.
ProQuest Research Library
Publication Dates Covered: 1971 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is a good starting point for finding journal articles on almost any topic. Over 150 academic subject areas are covered, and most articles are full-text. Searches can be limited to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Over 2000 digital versions of books across a wide range of scientific and engineering fields. Browse by subject or title, or search across part or all of the collection by keyword. The unique search tool allows simultaneous searching of texts, graphs and charts.
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer. K-State subscribes to a substantial portion of the database, so most of the results are items that can be found in full text. This database covers a wide range of subjects ranging from sciences to the humanities and has the capability of pulling specific information out of books.
Compendex (discontinued after 06/30/2018)
Publication Dates Covered: 1969 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
The electronic version of Engineering Index, Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over eight million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports dating back to 1969.
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Provides citations from more than 400 English-language scientific and technical publications pertaining to physical science and engineering. Many trade journals are included.
K-State Libraries Search It!
Search It enables you to search for scholarly articles and books available through K-State Libraries. Log into the search page with your K-State EID and password to get the full benefit of this.
Interlibrary Services provides library users access to books and journal articles even if the titles are not owned by K-State Libraries. Request library material by using the online request forms.
Dissertations and Theses
Dissertations and Theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Writing and Style Guides
APA Formatting and Style Guide
This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
IEEE Citation Reference
Examples of the IEEE style.
ESL Instructors and Students
This page provides resources for persons for whom English is a second language or for instructors of ESL courses.