Visit the Hale Library recovery website for fire-related updates.

HDFS 585 & HDFS 590 - Professional Seminar/Professional Capstone in HDFS

A resource for students in HDFS 585 & 590, and starting their professional careers

Accessing Resources After Graduation

While licensing agreements don't allow us to provide off-campus database access to alumni, there are many other resources.

Free databases listed on K-State Libraries' databases list are open to anyone.

If you are still in Kansas, the State Library of Kansas provides access to many databases. If you are in a different state, check if their state library does the same. Kansas residents can also obtain a community patron card that will allow you to still check out K-State Libraries' materials. 

Librarians love to share suggestions about where to find useful information. The guide you are currently reading is one example, and there are thousands more that can be found in the LibGuides Community

Wherever you end up living, it is likely that you will live near a library that can help you find resources. Check the websites of your local public or university library to see what is available. Most public libraries also have reference librarians who can help you find the research you need. 

Search Engines

These search engines provide a more focused search than a general Google, Yahoo, or Bing search. 

Websites

Research institutions, public and private organizations, and other websites can be great places to find information. Be sure to use the criteria under the "Evaluate Sources" tab to determine the usefulness of the information you find.  Remember that having a .org domain does not guarantee that the information is valid and reliable. Search for information about the organization in places other than its website before you decide to trust it.

Healthfinder.gov has compiled a list of other useful nonprofit and professional organizations. 

Associations

Professional associations can be good places to find information or to locate experts on particular topics. 

Government Websites and Databases

The federal government and state governments provide many sources of data and research. While you can generally trust the validity of information from .gov websites, you will still want to apply the same evaluation criteria that you would for other sources. 

Databases

The federal government collects and creates immense amounts of information. There are a number of databases that disseminate that resesearch and data. Here are some examples. 

Here are some selected examples of useful government websites.

You can find additional guidance about government resources on our Government Information Research Guide.