Visit the Hale Library recovery website for fire-related updates.

HIST 586 - Advanced Seminar in History

Welcome to Special Collections


The Richard L. D. and Marjorie J. Morse Department of Special Collections is located on the 5th floor of Hale Library. The department specializes in acquiring, preserving, and digitizing materials. There are over one million items in the collection, including manuscripts, archival records, rare books, photographs, recordings, and ephemera.

Special Collections is committed to enhancing and expanding all its collections in continued support of its teaching, learning, and academic research communities.

Reading Room Basics

Reading Room Lamp

Preparing for your visit

  • Hours: 10am to 5 pm, Monday–Friday
  • The Special Collections website has information about finding aids, collection information, and online exhibits to help you develop a specific topic and/or choose a collection to explore
  • It is possible to place materials on hold in advance of your visit
  • You can bring laptops, pencils (no pens please), and paper
  • Scanners are available (speak with staff before use)

In the Reading Room

  • Fill out the registration form and request slip at the front desk
  • Food, drinks, and pens are not allowed 
  • Cell phones must be placed on silent or turned off
  • Personal belongings should be stored in the security closet
  • White gloves are needed to handle historical photographs

Finding Aids for K-State Libraries Archives and Special Collections

K-State Libraries Archives and Special Collections include:

  • County plat books (maps indicating who owned what land)
  • State, county, and town histories
  • Photographs
  • Agricultural Research Station papers
  • more

Start your search for these using: