Hale Library Will Remain Closed Until Further Notice. For future updates see k-state.edu/update.
Due to the Fire, K-State Libraries' Access to Databases Has Been Temporarily Interrupted
Library staff are asked to communicate with supervisors and employees via phone and text until full email access is restored

ENGL 310 - Introduction to Literary Studies

This guide provides information about literary resources to aid students enrolled in ENGL 310 locate relevant research materials

What is an Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliographies

Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides a definition, explanation, and formatting for annotated bibliographies. It focuses primarily on MLA and APA styles. 

Annotated Bibliographies

The Writing Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill created this handout that describes the importance of annotated bibliographies for researchers, explains when different types of annotations may be used, and provides examples in APA, MLA, and CBE/CSE styles. 

King, J. (2010). How to write an annotated bibliographyAccess, 24(4), 34-37.

This article is written for high school students, but provides an excellent overview of the annotated bibliography and includes a worksheet to aid in creating an annotation. Additionally, the author includes rules for the length of the annotation and its components; these are good guidelines but you do not need to follow them exactly. The author uses Harvard style for formatting citations. 

Writing an Annotated Bibliography and Build an Annotated Bibliography

Librarians at Skidmore College's Lucy Scribner Library developed this guide that both explains an annotated bibliography and helps new researchers create an annotation.

Help with MLA Citations

Citation Resources

A General Guide to Understanding Plagiarism

Plagiarism infographic

Plagiarism

Plagiarism and academic integrity are two of the highest concerns for Kansas State University's administration and faculty. Likewise, students need to ensure that they are following the university's policies and guidelines so as not to violate the Honor Pledge. Even unintentional violations can have quite severe, lasting consequences.

Now, instead of reinventing the wheel, below you will find links to two sets of resources that can help you get a handle on these issues. The first two link directly to information on K-State's Honor & Integrity website...


...and the second set of links go to general, but still very useful information about plagiarism at Purdue's Online Writing Lab