The following databases are good starting points for agriculture research. A more complete list of Agriculture databases is available on the A-Z Databases page.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural Online Access)
Contains articles from the National Agricultural Library (some full-text but you'll need to use the Get It button for most articles). Subjects include animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education.
CABI (Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International): CAB Abstracts and Global Health
Find articles on agriculture, environmental sciences, health and nutrition, recreation and leisure, and much more. You'll need to be comfortable with the Get It button as most articles aren't full-text.
FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts)
Find articles on all aspects of food production including how food is processed to how it's consumed.
Plant Management Network
Publication Dates Covered: 2001 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Find information about applied plant science. Includes seed & pest control field trial publications, an image collection, an education & training center, a plant science database, and several peer-reviewed journals. Covers agronomy, biosecurity, ecology, entomology, horticulture, plant pathology, turf management, and weed science.
Web of Science
Simultaneously search Biological Abstracts, CAB Abstracts, Global Health, Food Science and Technology Abstracts, and the Web of Science Core Collection.
These websites are a small sampling of agencies within the Department of Agriculture. For a complete list of agencies, please see the Department of Agriculture.
Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
BLM's mission is to sustain the health, diversity, and productivity of America’s public lands for the use and enjoyment of present and future generations.
Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)
CNPP’s mission is to improve the health of Americans by developing and promoting dietary guidance that links scientific research to the nutrition needs of consumers.
Food and Nutrition Service (FNS)
Works to end hunger and obesity through the administration of 15 federal nutrition assistance programs including WIC, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), and school meals.
National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
Responsible for conducting monthly and annual surveys and preparing official USDA data and estimates of production, supply, prices, and other information necessary to maintain orderly agricultural operations. NASS also conducts the census of agriculture which is currently conducted every 5 years.
Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
Helps America’s farmers, ranchers and forest landowners conserve the nation’s soil, water, air and other natural resources.
Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management.
Entrusted with 193 million acres of national forests and grasslands and dedicated to the improvement of water resources, development of climate change resiliency, creation of jobs that will sustain communities, and restoration and enhancement of landscapes.
These websites are a small sampling of some of the information the Department of Agriculture creates. Go to the Department of Agriculture to get a more complete picture of all the websites available.
Census of Agriculture
The leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. Conducted every five years, the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them.
Find information on the Animal Welfare Act and the Horse Protection Act.
Animal production statistics for beef, dairy, poultry and eggs, pork, and other livestock news.
Choose My Plate
Menus and recipes, information about food groups, and weight management tips.
Offers nutrition assistance to low-income individuals and families and helps support communities through its various initiatives.
Food recalls and safe ways to cook and prepare food.
Vetted food and nutrition information from across the federal government.
Provides federal grants to states for supplemental foods, health care referrals, and nutrition education for low-income women and children.
Natural resources and recreation
Natural Resources Conservation Service
Responsible for several conservation programs that help people reduce soil erosion, enhance water supplies, improve water quality, and much more.
Find information on how to plan a trip around the nation's natural resources and parks.
A gateway to millions of pages of scientific information available through various federal agencies. Users can also browse websites listed by categories that include agriculture, food, natural resources and conservation, etc.
The US Forest Service is responsible for federal fire management and coordinates efforts between tribal, local, federal, and state governments to manage wildfires.
USDA strives to sustain and enhance economical crop production by developing and transferring sound, research-derived, knowledge to agricultural producers that results in food and fiber crops that are safe for consumption.
Plant Hardiness Zone Map
This resource is the standard by which gardeners and growers can determine which plants are most likely to thrive at a location.
Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.