Education Full Text and ERIC are great starting places when doing education research. Go to the A-Z Databases page for a more complete list.
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Publication Dates Covered: 1995 - present Free Resource
This free database contains resources from disciplines related to child care and early education, including research reports, fact sheets and briefs, datasets, instruments and measures, citations for scholarly journal articles and books, grey literature, government documents, and more.
Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database
Paid for by K-State Libraries
The CLCD is a complete source of information about children’s books, audio recordings, and films. It includes book awards and reviews from major publications such as Booklist, Horn Book, and Kirkus. All reviews of books are full text searchable.
Education Full Text
Publication Dates Covered: Indexing 1983 - present; full text 1996 - present Simultaneous users: 8 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes international range of English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks, including some not covered in ERIC. Contains page images, abstracts, and indexing.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) Publication Dates Covered: 1966 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Non-K-Staters: use this link
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books. Includes full-text ERIC digests and links to some full-text articles. ERIC also uses an excellent thesaurus.
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Contains citations and abstracts of the world’s literature in psychology, behavioral sciences, and related subjects. It includes citations to journal articles from more than 1,900 journal titles, technical reports, and dissertations of psychological relevance from more than 50 countries. Also includes books and book chapters.
There are many offices and positions with the Department of Education. Start there for an overview.
Department of Education
A department of the federal executive branch responsible for providing federal aid to educational institutions and financial aid to students, keeping national educational records, and conducting educational research.
Office of Elementary and Secondary Education
Assists state and local agencies to improve the quality of preschool, elementary, and high school students. Helps ensure equal access to services for all students, particularly those with high needs.
Office of Postsecondary Education
Administers grant programs that focus on minority and financially-disadvantaged students. Develops education policy and regulations. Administers programs that focus on foreign language learning and international studies.
The Education Publications Center (EDPUBS)
Intended for the public to search, access, and order Department of Education publications. All publications are provided at no cost to the general public.
These websites are good starting points when looking for education information. Also try the Department of Education.
Elementary and Secondary Education
Ben's Guide to Government
A fun and interactive way to introduce how the government works to young people. Ben Franklin is the avatar that leads children through the content.
Educational websites, games, and videos. Topics include art and music, history, exercise and healthy eating, money, music, and more.
Information for both parents and kids about different types of bullying, how to prevent it, and how to get help.
A tool for finding and comparing colleges and universities across the U.S.
Federal Student Aid
All types of federal aid information including the application process, kinds of aid, and paying off student loans.