Innovation and Inspiration: The Campaign for Kansas University

Citations and Bibliographies

This guide contains help for writing citations in APA, MLA, and other formats and also for managing your collection of citations in RefWorks.

Adding RefWorks to Google Docs

The RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs is one option to use when writing a paper. Other options include:

  • Using Write-N-Cite as an add-in with Microsoft Word 
  • Creating a simple bibliography from your references right in your RefWorks account  

Any additions, changes or deletions you make in your RefWorks account are automatically synced with the Google Docs Add-on. 

 

Installing the Google Docs Add-on for RefWorks

  1. Open a blank document and select Add-ons, Get Add-ons and search for “ProQuest RefWorks”. Click on the FREE button to add it.

Screenshot of adding RefWorks to Google Docs

     2.  You’ll be asked to accept certain conditions of using the add-on:


Screenshot of Google request for accessing information

     3.  Once you have accepted the conditions, you’re brought into your new document and can start writing your paper. 

RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs

Working with the ProQuest RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs

Inserting citations and references

  1. Start writing and when you are ready to insert your first citation, select Add-ons, ProQuest RefWorks, Manage Citations

Screen shot of menu options Add-ons, ProQuest RefWorks, and Manage Citations

  1. If this is your first time using the RefWorks add-on, you’ll be asked to log in to your RefWorks account. If you do not have a RefWorks account, you can sign up and receive access. Use your K-State email address to register. Once you’ve logged in, you don’t need to log out unless you’re on a public computer.
     

 

Screenshot of login screen

 

  1. The right-hand pane will change, defaulting to your RefWorks All references view.

Screenshot of RefWorks All References view box
 

 

  1. If you want to work with a RefWorks collection of references, just click on All references to see your list of folders. Choose the collection with the references you need for your paper. You can also use the search option to search for specific references. The search option searches all fields.

 

Screenshot of All References dropdown feature

Screenshot of All References search feature

  1. You can start writing your paper and when you are ready to cite a reference in RefWorks, click on the citation and click the cite this button. The in-text citation will be inserted (using the last output style you used in RefWorks).

 

Screenshot of adding in-text citation function in reference list

 

  1. There is also a citation editing option. Click Edit and Cite to add page numbers, hide the author name, or hide the publication year in your in-text citation (dependent upon the output style you are using). You will also see a preview of the in-text citation and your bibliography entry.

Screenshot of citation editing feature

 

Continue to add citations and watch your bibliography update right in front of you. 

You can also add footnotes (make sure your output style supports them!) by using Google Docs footnote option (Insert > Footnote):

 

Screenshot of how to add footnotes

 

Changing your output style

There are two ways you can change your output style for your paper:

  1.  In the RefWorks pane in your document, click on the options icon  and select Change citation style

Screenshot on how to change citation styles

Screenshot on how to set citation styles. Use the Search field to find the style you wish to use. The last six styles used will show up below the Search box when you click into it.

 

  1. Select any reference from the list and click the Cite and Edit button and change the style:

Screenshot on how to change current citation style

Note:  Custom output styles are currently not accessible.

 

Deleting or changing citations

  1. Highlight the citation you wish to delete and use the backspace key or delete key to remove it.
  2. Insert the new citation (if applicable).
  3. Click on the options icon  and select Update document. Your document will refresh and the bibliography entry will be removed or updated (if you added a replacement citation).

Screenshot on how to update or delete citations

Any additions, changes or deletions you make in your RefWorks account are automatically synched with the Google Docs add-on.

Note:  changes are NOT made to any in-text citations or the bibliography in your document.

Sharing Your Google Doc

Collaborating with others

Google makes it easy to collaborate with others on your paper. Now you can take that a step further, by collaborating with other RefWorks users!

Share your document with anyone who has a RefWorks account. In addition to adding and editing text to your document, they can also add in-text citations and footnotes from their RefWorks account.   

There are two ways you can share your document with others.

To share your document with someone who does NOT have a RefWorks account

1.  Click the share icon Share icon​.

2.  Enter the email address of the person you want to share with
 

Share icon location
 

3. The person will receive an email with a link to create a RefWorks account and then access your document with the can edit permission (you can modify the permission by clicking on the Share button and selecting can comment or can view)

Note:  Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you included in your document however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.

 

To share your document with someone who has a RefWorks account

  1. Click the Share button Share button in the upper right-hand corner.  The Share settings box will open with access to several options:
  • Can edit
  • Can comment
  • Can view

How to share and allow others to edit
 

  1. Via the Advanced settings you can change the access setting if desired (the default setting is “specific people”).

Advanced sharing settings
 

The Change link will allow you to modify how your document is shared.

Sharing permissions and privacy
 

  1. Enter the email addresses of the people you want to share the document with. If they do not have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one.

Note:  Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you’ve included in your document, however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.