Computing and Information Sciences
ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) Digital Library
Simultaneous users: 3 Paid for by K-State Libraries
A comprehensive collection of full-text articles from the Association of Computing Machinery, including journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings. Bibliographic citations and full-text articles from major publications in computing are also available, complemented by more than 6,000 video files and 500 audio files.
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Xplore
Publication Dates Covered: varies, generally 1988 - present Unlimited simultaneous users: Paid for by K-State Libraries
IEEE Xplore provides access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics published through the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) societies. This resource contains full-text documents from IEEE and IEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, e-books, conference proceedings, and technical standards.
Safari Books Online (new platform)
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Safari Books Online from O’Reilly is a collection of about 42,000 ebooks and videos, covering topics in computer science, business and management, personal and career development, engineering, software and Web development, drawing and painting, and travel. The collection has recently been updated with a new user interface and now provides the K-State community with unlimited simultaneous users.
Upon initial access, a patron validation screen will prompt the user to enter their academic email address. They will then be granted access. They will also be sent an email to complete the account setup.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
Publication Dates Covered: 2005 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
A collection of electronic books that synthesize an important research or development topics. Organized by series, primarily focused on electrical engineering, computer engineering, and biomedical engineering.
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Dissertations and Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Publication Dates Covered: 1861 - present; full text varies by school Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes full text for many dissertations written after 1996, including some master’s theses. Copies of dissertations not available in full text in this database may be requested via interlibrary loan
and/or purchased as microfilm or as unbound copies from UMI
. You can limit the search to K-State dissertations only
Dissertations – K-State Research Exchange (K-REx)
Publication Dates Covered: 2004 - present Free Resource
Full text of theses, dissertations, and reports submitted by K-State graduate students. Papers are typically available by the end of the semester in which the student graduated. Full coverage begins in Fall 2006 for doctoral dissertations and Fall 2007 for masters papers. Limited availability before 2006.
The National Academies Press
The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council
Networked Computer Science Technical Reports Library
NCSTRL (pronounced "ancestral") is an international collection of computer science technical reports from CS departments and industrial and government research laboratories, made available for non-commercial and eduational use.
Current Awareness Tools
Compendex Personal Account Alerts
Create a personal login. Run a search with the terms you want to use for an alert. At the top of the results page is a green box that includes the option to create an alert. Click on that hyperlink to create alert.
In the left hand column, click the down arrow on Personalization. Find Alerts Manager for instructions to set up an alert.