History

Tips for historical research

Searching for books and more in the Libraries

Use Search It to find:

  • a specific title
  • resources in the Libraries' collection about a topic

Limit your search to "K-State Libraries only" if you are looking for the following in our collection:

  • books (print and electronic)
  • journals, magazines, newspapers (to see if we subscribe to or have access to a particular title)
  • K-State theses and dissertations
  • maps
  • music recordings and scores
  • video recordings

From our home page:

  • Enter the title you are searching for
  • Click on the magnifying glass next to the search box or hit Enter on your keyboard to search

Search it bar

When you're already in Search It

  • Click on the K-State Libraries only tab above the search box
  • Enter the title
  • Click on the Search button

Already in search it

 

Multimedia

Need a presentation. Wondering what something sounded like, looked like, or smelled like? Well, we can get you the sound and the sight. For the smell, you're on your own.

American History in Video is your home for documentaries, newsreels, and anything that makes a historian giddy. True, not all of the footage is filmed during the 19th century, but you can get some great secondary sources here--or ideas for the angle that is going to make your paper rock.

ARTstor is a growing digital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information - collections are comprised of contributions from museums, libraries, and archives. You can learn more about researching with ARTstor on this class guide for Art students.

Smithsonian Global Sound--This database includes music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. While not all recorded during the 19th century, you can still hear the songs of the Civil War, Smokey Mountain Ballads, African American sacred music, and speeches written by 19th century African American women.

Searching other libraries

The database WorldCat permits researchers to discover publications housed in libraries throughout the United States and around the world.

This makes WorldCat a great way to discover the wide range of publications on almost any topic.

Plan ahead and use Interlibrary Loan to request materials K-State Libraries doesn't own.

History by the Numbers (Call Numbers, that is)

Just want to browse, but don't know where to start? Most history is located in the D, E, and F call numbers. Click on the links below to get more specific.

Peeking inside books

Search Google Books to preview the contents of a book.  Because Google Books can search the text within many books, beyond the basic bibliographic information that you'll find in library catalogs (title, author, table of contents), you can discover books with relevant information that you might have passed by on the shelf. When you find a book you want, look for the Find In a Library link to the left of the screen to see if K-State Libraries owns it. If we don't, place an Interlibrary Loan request and we'll try to get it for you.