Innovation and Inspiration: The Campaign for Kansas University

Engineering and Other Standards

Here is some specific help in finding standards at K-State Libraries.

Transfer Existing References into RefWorks

To add your existing references to the New RefWorks, look for your current reference manager below and follow the steps described.

RefWorks

RefWorks users have two options for moving existing references into the New RefWorks.

If you have a RefWorks account through K-State, you will see an option within your RefWorks account to “Move to the newest version of RefWorks”.
If you are in the middle of writing a document using Write-n-Cite, DO NOT move to the newest version. Wait until you have finished the document.
Screenshot of the link to Move to newest version of RefWorks
 
Or you can bring your RefWorks data into the New RefWorks when you are signed into your New RefWorks account via Import references. Use this option if you have multiple Legacy RefWorks accounts.  
 
Screenshot of the import references options


ReadCube

  1. From the library view select the article or articles and right click to bring up Export Options.
  2. Select Export to RefMan (RIS) file and save the file.
  3. In RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon Image of the Add a reference icon, then select Import References.
  4. Drag and drop the saved file into RefWorks into the box, or use the link to “select a file from your computer” and upload it. 
 

EndNote

  1. You can easily import your EndNote into your RefWorks account: In EndNote, go to Edit > Output Styles > Open Style Manager.
  2. Check “RefMan (RIS) Export”.
  3. In your EndNote library, select the references you would like to export.
  4. Go to File > Export and save the file, making sure the output styles field is set to “RefMan (RIS) Export”.
  5. In RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon Image of the Add a reference icon, then select Import References.
  6. Drag and drop the saved file into RefWorks into the box, or use the link to “select a file from your computer” and upload it. 
 

Mendeley

Automatically import your Mendeley database by clicking on the Image of the Add a reference iconwhen viewing your documents in RefWorks and selecting Mendeley.
 
Or, manually move your Mendeley database:

  1. From Mendeley Desktop, select record(s) and right click. Select Export, Research Information Systems (*ris).
  2. A dialog box appears for you to select the location where you want to save the file. Type a file name and select a location to save the file.
  3. In RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon Image of the Add a reference icon, then select Import References.
  4. Drag and drop the saved file into RefWorks into the box, or use the link to “select a file from your computer” and upload it. 
 

Zotero

  1. Select references. 
  2. Right-click and choose Export Selected Items. Choose RIS. Save the file.
  3. In RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon Image of the Add a reference icon, then select Import References.
  4. Drag and drop the saved file into RefWorks into the box, or use the link to “select a file from your computer” and upload it. 
 

Papers

  1. In your Papers library, highlight the references you want to export.
  2. Under the File menu, choose Export... and choose the Refman RIS option. Save the file.
  3. In RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon Image of the Add a reference icon, then select Import References.
  4. Drag and drop the saved file into RefWorks into the box, or use the link to “select a file from your computer” and upload it. 

Adding References Manually

To add an item to RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon Image of the Add a reference icon at the top of the page. If you plan on adding the item to an existing collection, click on the collection first, then click the Add a reference icon Image of the Add a reference icon.

You'll have three options:

  • Upload document
  • Import references
  • Create new reference

Screenshot of Add a new reference options

You can drag and drop a document (.pdf, .doc, etc.) directly into the Upload document box to upload an existing MS Office, Open Office or .pdf file from your computer. Only one document per item allowed. 

You can import references from a text file in the formats offered. From the import references screen, you will able to drag and drop the file onto the page to begin importing.

Using Create new reference you can manually enter your bibliographic data or drag and drop a file to be imported as well.

Tip:  If you have multiple documents to add to RefWorks, you can select and drag them all at once. RefWorks will create separate items for each.

Regardless of which option you choose, RefWorks attempts to auto-complete the reference fields on the page. RefWorks’s document recognition feature is compiled from a combination of authoritative citation sources, ProQuest databases, and end-user generated content and is continually revised and optimized to deliver the best possible results. 

You can change the reference type and manually edit the reference fields. Plus additional fields can be added using the Add more fields drop down box at the bottom of the page. 

Once you have manually added your item using one of these options, click Save and your item will be added to your RefWorks library.

Uploading One or More Documents from Your Computer

RefWorks makes it easy to import documents from your computer by dragging and dropping documents or uploading citation information from a file. 

RefWorks will try to recognize and populate the reference information using our document authority. RefWorks will present you with possible matches which you can select to populate the reference fields.

  • If no reference information is provided, you can manually enter the information.  

Drag and Drop

If you want to add your documents to a specific folder, make sure you’re viewing the folder first, then drag and drop the file(s).

  • If you’re dragging multiple files, RefWorks will create a separate item for each document.

If you do not need your documents in a specific folder, drag and drop documents in the All Documents view and you can file them in collections once they are uploaded.

Screenshot demonstrating how to drag and drop files into RefWorks


Import from a file

Need to import from a file? No problem. RefWorks supports hundreds of formats including RIS, BibTeX, and PubMed.

Click the Add a reference icon Image of the Add a reference icon at the top of the page. If you plan on adding the item to an existing collection, click on the collection first, then click the Add a reference icon Image of the Add a reference icon.

Follow the screen directions to drag and drop a file into RefWorks, or use the link to "select a file from your computer" and upload it.

  • You may need to tell RefWorks what kind of file you are uploading (e.g. BibTeX)
  • Make sure to click the Save button to save the reference information.