Innovation and Inspiration: The Campaign for Kansas University

Engineering and Other Standards

Here is some specific help in finding standards at K-State Libraries.

For Help

For additional assistance using RefWorks or Write N Cite try

Group Code

  • Occasionally Write N Cite will ask for a group code when you sign into your account in Word. 
  • The group code for Kansas State University is RWKansasSU

What is RefWorks 2

RefWorks 2 logo 
  • RefWorks is a citation management system available to all K-State students, staff, faculty and alumni free of charge.
  • RefWorks allows users to store, organize, edit and/or create citations from a variety of resource types; including articles, books, web pages, images and more.
  • RefWorks allows users to create bibliographies from stored references in one of hundreds of available styles, including APA, MLA, and Chicago.
  • RefWorks offers a plugin for Microsoft Word on both PCs and Macs that allows users to insert citations directly into their documents and create a bibliography from the cited sources using any of the hundreds of citation style options.

Getting Started with RefWorks 2

To get started with RefWorks, you can click the RefWorks link on the K-State Libraries webpage. The link is located on the left side of the page under Quick Links. This will take you to the RefWorks login screen.

Login or Create a New Account for RefWorks

Important Notes about creating RefWorks Account

  • You do not use your eID and password to login in to RefWorks, you have to create an account
  • Account is free for all K-State students, staff, and faculty
  • Once you create your account, it is yours forever
  • You DO NOT have to use your K-State email address to signup
  • When asked to create a user name, it is best to use the email address you provided

 

Click the image below to watch a screencast covering the process of setting up a new RefWorks account

Image links to screencast about getting started in RefWorks

Transcript

Video produced by K-State Libraries

CC BY-NC-SA

Importing and Organizing Citations in RefWorks 2

Click the image below to watch a screencast covering how to import citations into RefWorks using a direct export option. It also covers how to organize citations once they have been imported into RefWorks.

Image linking to screencast about importing and organizing citations in RefWorks

Transcript

Video produced by K-State Libraries

CC BY-NC-SA

 

  • RefWorks uses folders to organize citations
  • Citations can be mapped to as many folders as you want
  • Recommend creating folders for each class or project depending on the complexity

Removing Duplicate Citations

Click image below to watch screencast covering how to search for and remove duplicate citations from your RefWorks Account.

Image links to screencast about removing duplications in RefWorks

Transcript

Video produced by K-State Libraries

CC BY-NC-SA

 

  • It is easy to import duplicate citations when searching across multiple databases
  • Having duplicate citations can cause problems when using Write N Cite
  • Instead of having duplicate citations in separate folders, you can tag citations to appear in multiple folders, much like adding a song to multiple playlists.
  • For questions on adding citations to additional folders, watch the video on importing and organizing citations

Editing Citations

Click on the image below to view the screencast covering all of the options available in the edit citation screen of RefWorks. This includes editing important citation information, adding notes or additional information to the citation, and attaching the full text to the citation record.

Image is a link that leads a video for editing citations in RefWorks

Transcript

Video produced by K-State Libraries

CC BY-NC-SA

 

  • Sometimes imported citations are not 100% accurate, it is important to review each citation and edit it as necessary.
    • Most common mistakes are author email addresses appearing in the author field
  • PDFs are not included with citation during the export option from the databases, but users can attach the pdf to the citation in their account

Collaborative Work using RefWorks 2

Click the image below to link to screencast covering how RefWorks users can work together and share citations.

Image links to screencast about sharing folders in RefWorks

Transcript

Video produced by K-State Libraries

CC BY-NC-SA

 

  • The shared folders feature in RefWorks allows you to grant view access to other users, but does not allow those users to add additional citations or editing existing citations
  • For true collaborative work in RefWorks, users can create a new account and share the login information with their collaborators
  • When using shared folders keep in mind that copyright law may prohibit sharing pdfs if they are subscription based articles. Please contact the library using the contact information on the left if you have any questions regarding the permissibility of sharing documents.

Downloading Write-N-Cite IV

Click on the image below that links to the screencast covering where to find and download the Microsoft plugin for RefWorks called Write-N-Cite. Write-N-Cite allows users to insert saved citations from RefWorks directly into their Microsoft Word documents.

 

Image links to screencast about downloading Write N Cite IV in Refworks

Transcript

Video produced by K-State Libraries

CC BY-NC-SA

 

PC Users

  • Write N Cite IV is the newest version of Write N Cite and the version new users should start with
  • You will have the option of choosing the 64 bit or 32 bit version. This is based on Word not your operating system and for the vast majority of users, 32 bit is going to be the correct version.

Mac Users

  • Using Word for Macs 2016
    • Currently Write N Cite does not work with this version of Word for Macs
    • Until a new version of Write N Cite is released, we recommend using RefWorks for Google Docs with RefWorks 3.
  • Using an earlier version of Word for Macs:
    • Mac users with Mavericks (OS X 10.9), Yosemite (OS X 10.10), or El Capitan (OS X 10.11) operating system will need to download Java for OS X 2015-001 before downloading and installing Write n Cite.
  • For questions, problems, or concerns with Write N Cite, check the troubleshooting page or contact the library using the contact us box on the left side of the screen

Using Write-N-Cite IV on PCs

Click the image below to watch the screencast covering how to use Write N Cite IV for Microsoft Word. Please note that the screencast was taken using Microsoft Word on a PC, but that other than where the buttons appear, Write-N-Cite IV works the same on Macs as it does on PCs.

Image links to screencast about using Write n Cite in Word for a PC

Transcript

Video produced by K-State Libraries

CC BY-NC-SA

 

  • If you are prompted for a group code enter: RWKansasSU
  • If you experience problems with locating citations or getting the proper style, try clicking the "sync my database" button
  • Do not click the remove field codes button unless you have made a copy of your paper first. Once field codes have been removed, there is no quick way to reattached them.
  • If you notice problems with your citations, make the corrections in your online account. Changes made online will be reflected in your paper after you sync your account in Word (either by clicking the "sync my database" button or closing and re-opening word.
  • You can add page numbers by editing the in-text citation and using the "suffix" field to add your page numbers. This will only affect that instance of the citation, not all citations for that source.