Data - Numeric Resources

Sources of freely available data and statistics for all subjects

U.S. Education Data

The Chronicle of Higher Education

This site provides data on Institutions, Students, Faculty, Administrators, University Finances, Technology, and International Students.  Site includes maps, charts, and graphs too.
 

U.S. Education Statistics

The National Center for Education Statistics is the primary source of U.S. education data. Data is presented in text and table format. Users can search data tables by keyword, click on "fast facts," or find information in annual publications such as the Digest of Education Statistics or the Indicators of School Crime and Safety. Many tables can be downloaded into Excel. Includes the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)

 

Education Archives from Data.gov

This site provides access to data collected from the US federal geovernment and includes all levels of education.  You can explore datasets and apps, find resources for the classroom and details about paying for college.  The format of each dataset is color coded.
 

International Comparisons in Education

This page on the National Center for Education Statistics' website provides some cross-national comparisons of education data. The site also includes links to other resources.

 

Science and Engineering Education

Science and Engineering Statistics

This NSF site contains information about U.S. science and engineering resources such as education, funding, workforce, facilities, research and development. There are a few links to international publications and data; data is in table format.

 

WebCASPAR

This NSF site allows users to create a data table or select from predefined tables. Data includes NSF survey data of S&E degrees, funding, and research resources as well as IPEDS data from the National Center for Education Statistics. The tables can be modified and downloaded in SAS, Excel, or csv formats. This site experiences frequent disruptions in availability.