Innovation and Inspiration: The Campaign for Kansas University

Data - Numeric Resources

Sources of freely available data and statistics for all subjects

Health Data and Statistics

National Center for Health Stats

As the the principal agency for U.S. health statistics, the NCHS' website is very comprehensive. Users can find statistics easily by topic or via FASTSTATS A to Z. More advanced users can take advantage of the Accessing Data section to find more tabulated data and access to micro-data.

 

U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

This website is a comprehensive and authoritative site for health and safety. The link to "Data & Statistics" contains both statistical publications and links to data sources by topic. Data is presented in a variety of formats.

 

 

Vital Statistics of the U.S.

This site presents annual data on U.S. births, deaths, marriages, and divorces. Historic volumes for 1890-1994 can be viewed or downloaded as PDF files. Individual natality tables for 1994-2002 can be viewed online or downloaded as PDF files. The CDC has created a new site called VitalStats for more recent data; VitalStats provides more options for data display and manipulation, however the expanded data options require users to login (free).

 

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report

MMWR is compiled by the Centers for Disease Control on a weekly basis from data supplied by state health departments. This site contains articles and data are related to reportable illnesses and deaths. Data in table format is available at the national and regional levels as well as for larger cities, including Wichita and Kansas City.

 

Nutrition Data

National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)

This site, from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, contains raw data, documentation, and SAS code for the NHANES surveys. Online tutorials and links to other CDC health surveys (health care, immunization, aging, family growth) enrich the content of the site. Some of the data sets are restricted and require approval from NHANES.

 

Food Surveys Research Group (USDA Agricultural Research Service)

This website contains food and nutrition data from several different databases. What We Eat in America contains survey data on U.S. food and nutrient intake. Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies provides data on 13,000 common foods. MyPyramid Equivalents Database translates foods eaten into equivalent food pyramid groups. Data from all databases can be downloaded in SAS.

 

Health Resources from ICPSR

National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA)

This site contains raw data relevant to gerontological research. Users can search by keyword or variable, or can browse by subject or series. As with all ICPSR sites, data can be downloaded for free for manipulation in SAS, SPSS, or Stata. Online analysis is available for selected data sets.

 

Health and Medical Care Archive

This site contains data derived from surveys of health care professionals, investigations of access to medical care, evaluations of health care delivery programs, and substance abuse surveys. Data can be searched by keyword or browsed by subject. As with all ICPSR sites, data can be downloaded for manipulation in SAS, SPSS, or Stata.  Data in this site was collected through research projects funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Archive

This archive was developed by the U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration of the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services. It contains raw data related to substance abuse and mental health with links to a variety of studies and other data sources. As with all ICPSR sites, data can be downloaded for free for manipulation in SAS, SPSS, or Stata. Online analysis is available for selected data sets.

Other Sources of Health Data

National Institutes of Health

Since NIH is the primary U.S. Government agency responsible for medical research, the contents on this site are predominantly related to research, grants, and clinical trials. "Health topics A-Z" links to articles about diseases, treatments, and research results rather than data.

 

Integrated Health Interview Series

This site from the Minnesota Population Center contains microdata from the U.S. National Health Interview Survey. Users must register (free). The user selects desired variables and years, and the site extracts the customized data and sends notice with downloading information. Data is in fixed-column ascii format. IHIS also supports SAS, SPSS, and Stata with special syntax files.

 

MEASURE DHS

This independent agency, funded by the U.S. Agency for International Development and other donors, provides technical assistance to over 75 foreign countries surveying heath issues such as fertility, family planning, maternal and child health, malaria, nutrition, and HIV/AIDS. Participating countries are in Africa, Asia, Eastern Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean. Users can build customized tables of data or maps. Reports summarizing survey data are available online. For access to actual datasets, the user must register on the website and describe your research project. Datasets are available in multiple formats.