Visit the Hale Library recovery website for fire-related updates.

Data - Numeric Resources

Sources of freely available data and statistics for all subjects

International Data Sources

CESSDA

CESSDA (Council of European Social Science Data Services) is an umbrella organization for European social science data archives. Their website includes sociological surveys, election studies, longitudinal studies, opinion polls, and census data. Users can browse by topic, keyword, publisher or search free text. Data is available in multiple languages; users can select English by clicking on the UK flag.

 

Statistics Canada

This is the official website for Canadian statistics on all topics. In addition to statistical tables searchable by topic, there's a section on maps/geography, plus links to analytical studies and related websites.

 

Economic and Social Data Service (UK)

ESDS is a national data archiving and dissemination service for the UK but the site also includes other international data. The site provides access to over 5000 data sets which can be searched by keyword, topic, or using the A-Z index. Users must register to download data. Most micro datasets are free, but some more detailed data charge a fee for access. The site also contains resources for data users and links to other UK and European statistical sites.

 

Eurostat

Eurostat is the official statistical agency of the European Union. The site includes data on a wide range of topics: social, economic, environmental, scientific, and policy indicators. Data can be viewed online or downloaded. Users may register (free) for expanded use of the site.

 

FAO Stat

This site contains over three billion records related to food and agriculture world-wide.  It contains links to other databases and data sets in the FAOStat "family." Because the site is so large, users are advised to avoid doing multi-dimensional queries and downloads. K-State does not subscribe to FAOStat, so there is a limitation of 4,000 records per query and bulk downloads are not available.

 

ICPSR International Data Resource Center

This site provides access to all of ICPSR's international data on a wide range of topics including conflicts/war, economic, environmental, health, political, social, etc. Data can be searched by subject, series, and geography. Under "instructional resources," the site also includes suggested research topics and associated data sets for undergraduates. As with all ICPSR sites, data can be downloaded for free for manipulation in SAS, Stata, SPSS, or ASCII formats. Users must register online before downloading data.
 

IPUMS International

The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series site offers access to harmonized census microdata from 26 countries. It is intended for expert users who can download and manipulate raw data.  Under "Resources" there are links to individual countries' statistical sites with readily available information. IPUMS users must register their personal and research information before downloading data (free).

 

International Comparisons in Education

This page on the National Center for Education Statistics' website provides some cross-national comparisons of education data. The site also includes links to other resources.

 

Groningen Growth and Development Centre

This site contains several databases of macroeconomic data, including total economy, economic growth, sector productivity, output/input growth, productivity levels, and historical national accounts.   Geographic coverage is primarily Europe, but also includes Asia, North America, and Latin America.  Data is downloaded in Excel format.

 

Penn World Table 6.3

This database, developed at the Center for International Comparisons at the University of Pennsylvania, provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries.  Users can select multiple countries, variables, and dates.  Data can be downloaded as html table, SAS file, or csv format.  The site provides limited help on using the data.
 

International Social Survey Programme

ISSP is an international organization that compiles and coordinates cross-national social science research projects. Topics data back to 1985 and include social networks and inequality, family and gender roles, and national identity.  Documentation for the various data modules are online, but actual data must be ordered. Some datasets are available free but others charge a fee.

 

Measure DHS

This independent agency, funded by the U.S. Agency for International Development and other donors, provides technical assistance to over 75 foreign countries surveying heath issues such as fertility, family planning, maternal and child health, malaria, nutrition, and HIV/AIDS. Participating countries are in Africa, Asia, Eastern Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean. Users can build customized tables of data or maps. Reports summarizing survey data are available online. For access to actual datasets, the user must register on the website and describe your research project. Datasets are available in multiple formats.

 

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OCED) QWIDS

QWIDS is OECD’s query wizard for statistics on international aid including donors, recipients, flows, sectors, and dates.  The data is reported by governments, multilateral organizations and other donors.

 

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OCE) Stat Extracts

This site provides a single online platform for access to OECD datasets in a wide array of topics. Users can search by keyword or select a dataset by theme and customize the data by drilling down through the options. Data can be downloaded in Excel or CSV.
 

UN Human Development Data

The UN Development Programme's Human Development Reports contain statistics on a wide range of social and economic categories for countries throughout the world. Tabular data can be located by country, indicator, or table. Users can also build tables from select lists of variables. The Human Development Index on the site ranks countries for overall quality of life based on life expectancy, literacy, and standard of living.

 

UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (Comtrade)

This database contains import, export, re-import, and re-export data to and from countries throughout the world. In addition to data, the site contains instructional material for beginners and advanced users of the site. K-State does not subscribe to Comtrade, so K-State users can search and view data online, but not download, save, or create favorites. Knowledge of commodity classification codes is useful.

 

UNData

This United Nations site includes data on agriculture, business/economics, demographics, education, national accounts, and tourism. The site searches more than 55 million records worldwide which can be searched by keyword or browsed by database. Data can be filtered by country or date, viewed online, or downloaded.

 

UN Population Division

This site contains worldwide data on population, migration, urbanization, resources, environment, and development. The country profiles in the PRED databank contain more detailed information. Data is presented in tables and can be downloaded in either Excel or .csv format.
 

WHO Data and Statistics

This statistical site from the World Health Organization includes a range of health data from member nations. There are several databases as well as links by topic and region/country. Most data is in table format, but in some cases users have the opportunity to download raw data. This site doesn't work well with the Internet Explorer browser.