Hale Library Will Remain Closed Until Further Notice. For future updates see k-state.edu/update.
Due to the Fire, K-State Libraries' Access to Databases Has Been Temporarily Interrupted

Data - Numeric Resources

Sources of freely available data and statistics for all subjects

Featured

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis

This site offers a wide range of economic data at the state/regional, national, and international levels. Interactive tables allow for customized views of data. Data can be downloaded as xls, csv, or zipped files.

 

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

This site is a comprehensive source of economic and labor data, including wages, employment, productivity, price indexes, consumer and industry information, etc. Data is generally presented in table format.
 

U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Offers an array of U.S. transportation statistics from both public and private sectors.  Categories of data include airlines, freight, border crossings, commodity flow, national household travel, bridges, ferries, and state statistics.

 

Budget of the U.S. Government

This official site contains all volumes of the current and previous budgets in PDF format. Data in spreadsheet format from 1998 forward can be located by choosing the "More" feature after each date and scrolling to the bottom of the screen. Unofficial versions of the Budget for 1963-1986 can be found on FRASER.

 

U.S. Census Bureau

This site contains links to all of the Census Bureau's online data by category, including people, business, geography, data, research, press releases, and quick facts. Both national and state data are available. Data is available in tables and can be downloaded.

  • DataFerrett- DataFerrett is a data analysis and extraction tool to customize federal, state, and local data to suit your requirements. Using DataFerrett, you can develop an unlimited array of customized spreadsheets that are as versatile and complex as your usage demands then turn those spreadsheets into graphs and maps without any additional software.
  • Guide to Foreign Trade- Guide to Foreign Trade Statistics is "intended to serve as a guide to the various sources of foreign trade statistics and to inform users of the content and general arrangement of the data."

 

U.S. Economic Census

The economic census is taken by the U.S. Census Bureau every 5 years. Using detailed SIC/NAICS codes for industries, the census includes data on number of establishments, sales/receipts/shipments, annual payroll, and numbers of employees from the national to local level. Local data may be limited to preserve confidentiality.
 

Economic Report of the President

This annual publication includes tables of data on national income/expenditure, employment, production, population, prices, money, profits, agriculture, and international economics. Each table has different years of coverage. Tables are in Excel and can be downloaded individually or as a single zip file.

 

Global Agricultural Trade System Online (GATS)

Created by the USDA’s Foreign Agricultural Service, this database includes international trade data for agricultural, fish, forest and textile products.  Data includes U.S. imports and exports for regions and countries by several product groups (BICO, FAS, FS, Harmonized, WTO).  Users can also select date series and data settings.  The resulting online chart can be converted to Excel.

 

Groningen Growth and Development Centre

This site contains several databases of macroeconomic data, including total economy, economic growth, sector productivity, output/input growth, productivity levels, and historical national accounts.   Geographic coverage is primarily Europe, but also includes Asia, North America, and Latin America.  Data is downloaded in Excel format.

 

Penn World Table 6.3

This database, developed at the Center for International Comparisons at the University of Pennsylvania, provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries.  Users can select multiple countries, variables, and dates.  Data can be downloaded as html table, SAS file, or csv format.  The site provides limited help on using the data.
 

National Agricultural Statistics Service

NASS is the offical statistical agency for the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. This site includes data on a wide variety of agricultural topics at the national, state, and county levels. Online availability varies depending on topic.

 

Statistical Abstract of the United States

This annual publication had been one of the primary U.S. statistical sources for 130 years. Arranged by topics (population, vital statistics, income, agriculture, manufacturing, etc.) each section contains many tables of data.  The last Statistical Abstract was published in 2012.  For earlier editions are also available

 

U.S. Department of Commerce

Includes economic indicators (GDP, new residential sales/construction, etc.) and links to all of the bureaus within the Department of Commerce, including the Economic and Statistic Administration, the Economic Development Administration, the Minority Business Development Agency, and the International Trade Administration.

 

Trade Stats Express

This site includes both national trade data and state export data from the U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Data can be displayed using NAICS, HS, or SITC classifications.
 

UN Human Development Data

The UN Development Programme's Human Development Reports contain statistics on a wide range of social and economic categories for countries throughout the world. Tabular data can be located by country, indicator, or table. Users can also build tables from select lists of variables. The Human Development Index on the site ranks countries for overall quality of life based on life expectancy, literacy, and standard of living.

 

UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (Comtrade)

This database contains import, export, re-import, and re-export data to and from countries throughout the world. In addition to data, the site contains instructional material for beginners and advanced users of the site. K-State does not subscribe to Comtrade, so K-State users can search and view data online, but not download, save, or create favorites. Knowledge of commodity classification codes is useful.

 

USA Trade

Access to the U.S. Dept. of Commerce product is limited to K-State users. This interactive site allows users to build their own table of import, export, or port data by commodity, country, and/or time. Data is expressed using harmonized system codes.