Hale Library Will Remain Closed Until Further Notice. For future updates see k-state.edu/update.
Due to the Fire, K-State Libraries' Access to Databases Has Been Temporarily Interrupted

Data - Numeric Resources

Sources of freely available data and statistics for all subjects

Agriculture Data Resources

National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)

Contains data on production, supplies, consumption, facilites, costs, and returns of U.S. agriculture.  Published annually by the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture.

 

Census of Agriculture

Taken every five years, it is a complete count of U.S. farms and ranches, and includes data on farm characteristics, products, and farm operators at the national, state, and county levels.
 

Economic Research Services (USDA)

Provides information and data on food, farming, natural resources, and rural developement.

 

FAOStat

Contains more than three billion records related to food and agriculture world-wide.  Includes links to other databases and data sets in the FAOStat "family".

 

Soil Data

Web Soil Survey (USDA)

The Web Soil Survey provides detailed soil data for specific sites or addresses.

 

Soil Survey Geographic (SSURGO) Database (NRCS Soils)

Soil descriptions, and Soil Data Mart downloads and data, including GIS formats.

 

Climate and Weather Resources

National Weather Service GIS Data Portal

"Many of the National Weather Service data sets are available in formats that are able to be imported directly into Geographic Information Systems (GIS). Data formats include downloadable shapefiles, web services and even KML files." Also part of NOAA.

 

NOAA's National Climatic Data Center

The largest archive of weather data.  The GIS Map Services Index provides access to the data and the interactive map application displays available data.

 

PRISM Climate Group's Climate Data

Spatial climate data sets developed by the PRISM climate mapping program at Oregon State University's Spatial Climate Analysis Service (SCAS). Download compressed ASCII files that can be converted to rasters.