Data - Numeric Resources

Sources of freely available data and statistics for all subjects

From the EPA

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

EPA's homepage provides links by topic to a wide range of resources including air, agriculture, hazardous substances, human health, recycling, water, etc. Users can drill down to find very detailed information. The "Databases and Software" link under "Information Sources" is useful for getting directly to data sources and tools.

 

Envirofacts Data Warehouse

This EPA site provides direct access to selected EPA databases on air, water, and land resources. Information is available to the county, city, and zipcode levels. Users can also download geospatial data. Highly sophisticated SQL users can register with EPA to obtain direct access to the Envirofacts database through Open Access.
 

Toxic Release Inventory (TRI)

TRI is a database containing data on disposal or other releases of over 650 toxic chemicals from thousands of U.S. facilities and information about how facilities manage those chemicals through recycling, energy recovery, and treatment. One of TRI's primary purposes is to inform communities about toxic chemical releases to the environment.

Other Environmental Data

Kansas Applied Remote Sensing Program

This site, created by the Kansas Applied Remote Sensing Program, contains Kansas satellite images and image-derived map products. The images are from Landsat MSS, Landsat TM, Landsat ETM+, Terra MODIS, and Terra ASTER. Online products for downloading include a Kansas vegetation map (Kansas GAP) and Kansas land cover patterns.


Kansas Geological Survey

This site presents data on Kansas oil and gas wells, including production and mapping features. Zipped data files and GIS files are available from the site. The site also contains links to the GEMINI Project, but access to that geo-engineering modelling web application is limited to registered users.

Data.gov - formerly GeoData.gov

This site provides one-stop access to U.S. federal, state, and local data and maps from multiple U.S. government agencies.  Data categories include agriculture, biology, business, demographics, environment, health, geology, inland water, transportation, etc.  Users can register (free) to take advantage of personalized options.



The Geospatial Data Gateway (GDG) is the One Stop Source for environmental and natural resources data, at anytime, from anywhere, to anyone. The Gateway allows you to choose your area of interest, browse and select data from our catalog, customize the format, and have it downloaded or shipped on CD or DVD.

Water

Great Plains Water Operations

This U.S. Bureau of Reclamation site has water data for the 9-state region including Kansas. The Hydromet system contains hydrologic and meteorologic data for established monitoring stations. The AgriMet system contains agricultural weather information (Montana only). The site also contains water management information for the region's lakes and reservoirs.

 

National Hydrology Dataset

This USGS site provides a comprehensive set of digital spatial data about U.S. surface water. Data is available in two datasets: high resolution (1:24,000 scale topographic) and medium resolution (1:100,000 scale topographic). Data is intended to be downloaded for use with GIS software. The site also contains links to online tools and tutorials.
 

Water Information Management and Analysis System (WIMAS)

This site provides Kansas water rights data by geography or water right file number and type of use. In addition, there are options to summarize quantity, create a map, display development or water use trends, and download data. The site also provides an online user manual. The information is derived from the Kansas Department of Agriculture's Division of Water Resources. Some restrictions apply: the site doesn't indicate whether a water right is in good standing, the site cannot be used for sales or marketing purposes (K.S.A. 45-220(c)(2)), and users must enter their email address to comply with the Kansas Open Records Act.

 

USGS's Water Data Reports for States

This site provides an easy inventory, by state, of Water Resources Data reports. Reports can be downloaded in pdf format.

 

Soil Data

Web Soil Survey (USDA)

The Web Soil Survey provides detailed soil data for specific sites or addresses.

 

Soil Survey Geographic (SSURGO) Database (NRCS Soils)

Soil descriptions, and Soil Data Mart downloads and data, including GIS formats.