Visit the Hale Library recovery website for fire-related updates.

Data - Numeric Resources

Sources of freely available data and statistics for all subjects

Recent Census Data

American Factfinder

Official site of the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes the Decennial Census, 2000-2010, and the American Community Survey, an on-going survey. Both have demographic data at the national, state, county, and place levels, but ACS does not include small cities and towns. Data is in tables which can be downloaded.

 

U.S. Census Bureau

Contains links to all of the Census Bureau's online data by category: people, business, geography, decennial census (American FactFinder), press releases, and quick facts. Both national and state data are available. Data is available in tables and can be downloaded.

  • DataFerrett- DataFerrett is a data analysis and extraction tool to customize federal, state, and local data to suit your requirements. Using DataFerrett, you can develop an unlimited array of customized spreadsheets that are as versatile and complex as your usage demands then turn those spreadsheets into graphs and maps without any additional software.


 

IPUMS - The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series

Consists of 39 samples of U.S. population from the 1850-2010 decennial censuses and the 2000-2010 American Community Surveys. Microdata includes information about individuals and households. However, by law, data since 1940 must preserve confidentiality, so no names or addresses are included for those files, some data has been restricted, and no places with fewer than 100,000 inhabitants (250,000 for 1960 and 1970) are included. Users must register (free) to download raw datasets, but the site provides the ability for some online tabulation.

Historical Census Data

Historical Census Browser

This site provides selected tables at the national, state, and county levels. "Map-it" feature provides links to interactive maps of the data. Data cannot be downloaded.

 

Statistical Abstract of the United States

This annual publication has been one of the primary U.S. statistical sources for 130 years. Arranged by topics (population, vital statistics, income, agriculture, manufacturing, etc.), each section contains many tables of data.

 

NHGIS (National Historical Geographic Iniformation System)

This site provides access to data and GIS files for historic census and business titles. Users must register before accessing data, but there is no charge. The site provides easy-to-read charts of data and boundary file availability. Users can select the date, geography, and variable(s) for desired data. Boundary files for GIS use are available either via the Shape Finder option, or in the last step of the data downloading process. Boundary files are not available for all variables and geographies. Download options include SPSS, SAS, Stata, CSV file, GIS CSV file, and shapefiles.

 

Historical Statistics of the U.S.

This two-part publication, available online in PDF format, contains statistics about the United States from colonial times to 1970. Issued by the Census Bureau, the publication includes an explanation of the data as well as the actual statistical tables.

 

Social Explorer

Contains more than 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables, and 220 years of data. Interactive mapping and reporting tools let you explore a vast array of demographic data quickly and easily.

Immigration Data

U.S. Immigration Statistics

The official U.S. immigration statistics are included in the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics on this site. Tables contain historical data, many as far back as 1820. Sections of the Yearbook can be downloaded in PDF format.  Individual tables can be downloaded in Excel. The site also contains useful links to related resources.

 

UN Population Division

This site contains worldwide data on population, migration, urbanization, resources, environment, and development. The country profiles in the PRED databank contain more detailed information. Data is presented in tables and can be downloaded in either Excel or .csv format.