Hale Library Will Remain Closed Until Further Notice. For future updates see k-state.edu/update
Due to the Fire, K-State Libraries' Access to Databases Has Been Temporarily Interrupted
Library staff are asked to communicate with supervisors and employees via phone and text until full email access is restored
Databases are essential tools for finding quality research articles and other resources that can help with literacy-related research topics. Explore the databases below for scholarly research and information about children's books.
Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database
Paid for by K-State Libraries
The CLCD is a complete source of information about children’s books, audio recordings, and films. It includes book awards and reviews from major publications such as Booklist, Horn Book, and Kirkus. All reviews of books are full text searchable.
Education Full Text
Contains articles related to education in general and thousands of articles on early literacy. Note: the database is not really all full-text (though the title might make you think otherwise) - you'll need to use the Get-It button to access articles.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
This is the largest and most comprehensive database for literary criticism in all languages. Can also find thousands of articles on emergent literacy and other related topics.
The preeminent psychology database with articles related to topics on early childhood education.