Hale Library Will Remain Closed Until Further Notice. For future updates see k-state.edu/update.
Due to the Fire, K-State Libraries' Access to Databases Has Been Temporarily Interrupted

EDEL 411 - Teaching Literacy K-2

Resources for EDEL 411 students, including finding children's books, searching for articles, using the Curriculum Materials Center, and more!

Where Do I Go to Find Children's Books?

Juvenile Literature Collection at Hale Library

Search the Juvenile Literature Collection on Hale Library's 4th floor! The collection includes children's and young adult fiction, nonfiction, picture books, folk and fairy tales, plays and poetry. Browse the collection to get award-winning books including Caldecott, Newbery, Coretta Scott King, and Bill Martin, Jr. award winners, just to name a few. Also included are informational books with an emphasis on science, mathematics, art, and social studies. Check Search It for specific titles.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

In Children's Literature Comprehensive Database, you can search by reading metric, grade level, age, and even award winners. Each book has multiple reviews, a link to Search It (to see if K-State Libraries own it), and even awards the book won. Check it out if you want to look beyond what Hale Library has in the Juvenile Literature Collection.

Manhattan Public Library

Exhausted the Juvenile Literature Collection in Hale? Want to find books you found in Children's Literature Comprehensive Database but they're not in Hale? Look no further than the Manhattan Public Library. MPL has a fantastic children's department where you can find great books. You'll need a library card but that's easy! Just bring a photo ID and something with your current address on it. 

How Do I Find Children's Books in Search It?

Search tips:

  • Try using the Advanced Search option and select K-State Libraries only to limit to books (excluding articles). Start with a title, author, or keyword search. 

 

Advanced Search example

 

  • Limit by location to Hale's Juvenile Literature Collection. 

 

Limit by Location

 

  • Look for the Hale Library Juvenile Literature Collection--4th floor language next to a book. This will tell you that it's in that collection and you need to go to the 4th floor to get it. 

 

Juvenile Literature Collection--4th Floor