Innovation and Inspiration: The Campaign for Kansas University

AT 245 - Apparel and Textile Industry

This class guide supports student library research for the Fall 2017 session of AT 245.

Find Books and Book Chapters

WorldCat Database

Search for books at K-State Libraries and those at other libraries simultaneously.  The WorldCat database can help you to determine if your topic is mentioned within a book — many records include the table of contents.  

We highly recommend the Advanced Search option (see image below).

  • If we have the title, you can click on the "Get It" button to retrieve the call number from Search It
    • If using Get It with Search It does not work:
      • open Search It,
      • select the "K-State Libraries Only" tab, 
      • change "Any" to "in the title",
      • type in the title,
      • beside "Material type" select "Books"
      • and click on "Search."  
  • If the title is not available at K-State, you can request that we borrow the book from another library. Click on the title to get to the complete record and then use the "Get It" button and select "Not available? Request from Interlibrary Loan" to place an Interlibrary Loan request.

We highly recommend the "Advanced Search" option — it allows for much greater control when searching. 

WorldCat screen capture 

 

Search for a book using Search It to get the call number and location:

advanced search screen for search by title limit to books

 

The call number is displayed next to the library location:

search result

 

Search Tips

Databases vs. Internet searches:

  • Databases offer electronic access to articles, book chapters, reports, etc. that have been compiled and cataloged by a reputable organization.
  • K-State Libraries pays to subscribe to databases and the information found here is generally not found freely available on the Internet.  
  • Databases are global in scope and content and their content is created and maintained by various companies and organizations.

Search Tips:

Keywords: It can be helpful to track the terminology/keywords that work best as well as possible synonyms and experiment with different search terms. 

Advanced Search/Guided Search: these options offer multiple search boxes allowing greater control and use of Boolean Operators (AND & OR & NOT).

  • AND = both concepts must be present, helps limit the search
  • OR = great for synonyms, helps broaden the search while staying within the subject area
  • NOT = exclude an unrelated term, or to weed out irrelevant results

Examples of advanced searches:

  • apparel AND globalization
  • "Coco Chanel" AND biography
  • trade AND India AND (clothing OR textiles)
  • history AND France AND (clothing OR fashion OR costume OR apparel)

Subject Headings: "Subject Headings" or "Descriptors" help narrow your search. These tags group items by category. Different databases recognize different terms and as you find them, you can construct your search using the terminology of that database. 

Get It: No full text available? Click on "Get It" to view your options for connecting with the full text.  It may be available electronically, as a print copy available on campus, or via Interlibrary Loan. 

Truncation: Using truncation, a search for teen* collects "teen", "teens", "teenager", "teenagers", etc. by adding all possible endings to the word stem (broadens your search while staying on topic). The truncation symbol might differ by resource.

Wildcard: Use "wildcard".  For example: wom?n searches for "women" or "woman"

Help: look for the “Help” section or Ask a Librarian.