Welcome to the K-State Libraries' guide to maps. This guide is designed to help you find maps owned by K-State Libraries, maps available online, and resources you can use to create your own maps. If this guide does not have the information you are looking for please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
To find a geologic map for the location you are interested in, first you will need to know the name of the quadrangle in which it is located. Follow these steps to learn the name of the quadrangle.
Go to K-State Libraries' homepage: http://www.lib.k-state.edu/ and search to see if we have any recent maps for your quadrangle using Search It. NOTE: our online system does not list all of the maps we own.
If you do not find a map in step 2 above, do not despair! We may very well have an older map (prior to 1978) not listed. To see if we do, follow these steps:
The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection. Can search by keyword or browse by geographic location, subject, creator, and title indexes/indices.
With over 35,000 maps and images available online, the collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
From the University of Texas at Austin, the collection features historical maps by region with an emphasis on maps of Texas. Includes links to historical atlases as well as other online map sites.
Currently contains over 1,000 maps, ranging from early maps of Asia to historical maps of Wisconsin and Milwaukee, and other American cities, states, and national parks. The digital collection is under continuing development.
Maps are a great way to visualize data, tell a story, or give additional information about your area of study. This page contains tools to help you create maps for any project you design.
Register for a free ArcGIS Online personal account and you can create, store, and manage maps, apps, and data that you can then share with others. If you are a student or staff member of K-State, you can Request an ArcGIS Online Account for Organizations http://gis.ksu.edu/software/index.html
Provides the framework to add a number of unique features and content to a Google Maps interface.
Store, share, query, and visualize data tables. Google Fusion Tables allow you to write queries to manage tables and data rows, and query the table for all rows that match spatial or data conditions. The results of queries can be a .CSV or used in the Google Maps API or Google Chart Tools
An open access repository of data and maps for the world, GeoCommons includes a large number of features that allow you to easily access, visualize and analyze your data. You can also animate your data through time and space, and share your visualizations on social media.
This resource turns your spreadsheet into a map.
The Science of Science (Sci2) Tool is a modular toolset specifically designed for the study of science. It supports the temporal, geospatial, topical, and network analysis and visualization of scholarly datasets at the individual, local, and global levels.
An experiment by IBM Research and the IBM Cognos software group. View others' visualizations, upload your own data, and create your own visualizations.
Tableau Public is a free tool that "brings data to life" (according to their website). View others' visualizations or create your own. Tutorial included.
Web-based Analysis and Visualization Environment is designed to enable visualization of any available data. WEAVE has a wide array of options for working with different data types.
Contains more than 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables, and 220 years of data. Interactive mapping and reporting tools let you explore a vast array of demographic data quickly and easily.