Web of Science Databases
Web of Science Core Collection
Publication Dates Covered: Science 1945 - present; Social Sciences 1956 - present; Arts & Humanities 1975 - present; Emerging Sources: 2015 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Online version of four Citation Indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Emerging Sources. In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles in over 8,000 journals, one can do a “cited reference” search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited.
CABI (Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International): CAB Abstracts and Global Health
Publication Dates Covered: 1910 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
CAB Abstracts contains the citations and abstracts for articles in thousands of English and foreign language journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, theses, and patents. Disciplines covered are agriculture; environmental sciences; health and nutrition; microbiology and parasitology; and recreation, leisure, and tourism. Global Health contains public health information from the community level to the international level. Topics include bacterial, viral and prion diseases; parasitology; disease vectors; zoonotic diseases; nutrition and food safety; social science and health service; medicinal plants; environmental and rural health.
FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts)
Publication Dates Covered: 1969 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Subjects included cover all human food commodities and aspects of food processing from the production of raw food to the consumption of finished foods. Also included are economics, standards, legislation, and engineering relating to food science and technology from over 1,800 publications in 40 different languages.
Other Useful Databases
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Publication Dates Covered: 1861 - present; full text varies by school Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes full text for many dissertations written after 1996, including some master’s theses. Copies of dissertations not available in full text in this database may be requested via interlibrary loan
and/or purchased as microfilm or as unbound copies from UMI
. You can limit the search to K-State dissertations only
Dissertations – K-State Research Exchange (K-REx)
Publication Dates Covered: 2004 - present Free Resource
Full text of theses, dissertations, and reports submitted by K-State graduate students. Papers are typically available by the end of the semester in which the student graduated. Full coverage begins in Fall 2006 for doctoral dissertations and Fall 2007 for masters papers. Limited availability before 2006.
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.