Visit the Hale Library recovery website for fire-related updates.

ENGL 417 - Written Communication for the Workplace

What is Grey Literature?

Grey Literature (also spelled Gray Literature) is literature that is not available through the usual bibliographic sources such as databases or indexes.  It can be both in print and, increasingly, electronic formats. Gray literature is produced by government agencies, universities, corporations, research centers, associations and societies, and professional organizations.

 

Fact Sheets Government Documents Committee Reports Newsletters
Standards Technical Documentation Bulletins White papers
Patents Technical Reports Symposia Working papers
Business documents Conference proceedings Pre-prints Unpublished works

 

What Websites Contain Government Based Grey Literature?

DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information provides the science, technology, and engineering research information from the US Department of Energy

Jet Propulsion Laboratory  provides access to JPL authored, externally published papers and reprints

DTIC --Defense Technical Information Center

NASA Technical Reports Server --  Technical reports from NASA and NACA

TRAIL -- Technical Reports Archive and Image Library provides historic technical reports from a number of federal agencies

 

Websites Containing Academic and Other Professional Research

OAIster is a catalog of millions of records to open access digital resources.

arxiv.org/ is maintained by Cornell University and contains open access to 1,118,279 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library  [NCSTRL] contains full-text computer science technical reports mainly from universities and research centers.

The National Agricultural Library -- Agricola --contains agricultural information.