Where to search for articles
To get to databases, go to the Libraries’ home page and click on databases at the bottom of the Search It box. Databases will find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles (and in some cases other materials like book chapters, dissertations, conference presentations, pamphlets, and more).
Almost anything, since FSHS is so interdisciplinary! You may use databases in psychology, health, social services, education, etc. Here are some of the major ones:
Searches psychology topics. Provides a thesaurus that allows you to search for synonyms and related terms, as well as many different useful ways to limit your search.
Allows you to search for articles written from a sociological perspective.
Social Services Abstracts
Good for finding articles focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, etc.
Education Full Text
The other main education databases. Although there will be some overlap with ERIC, each will also have resources that the other does not.
Web of Science
A broad, multi-disciplinary database that searches over many subjects. Also excellent for cited reference searching.
Another broad, multi-disciplinary database that searches over many subjects. Also excellent for cited reference searching.
Medicine and health databases can be used to find information on medical research and other health-related topics.
And a few more to be aware of
Where to search for books
Use the Search It box on the Libraries' home page to find books and other materials owned by K-State Libraries.
Contains information about books, serials, videos, and other items cataloged by institutions including K-State. It contains more than 57 million records with bibliographic information and information regarding which libraries hold the item in question. If K-State does not own the item you need, use Get It to request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Google Book Search
Lists almost every book ever published, and will often give you a preview of the contents of the book. If K-State does not own the item you need, you can fill out an Interlibrary Loan request.
Find Books with Search It