Innovation and Inspiration: The Campaign for Kansas University

Newspapers in print and online

Newspapers available to K-State students, faculty and staff through K-State Libraries

Searching newspapers in the database directory

For a search of newspaper databases, type newspaper* (including the asterisk) into the search box found at guides.lib.k-state.edu/az.php.

Image displays search for newspapers in database directory

The search results are a mixture of historical and current newspaper contents of varying national and international coverage, depending on the scope of the database. See lists of recommended databases at left.

Some of these databases offer a direct list of the newspapers that they cover. For example, Infotrac Newsstand allows you to browse their list, or use specific newspaper names in their Publication Search:

Image displays Infotrac Publication Search, by newspaper name

Recommended Newspaper Sources

Alt-Press Watch

Independent voices from grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals.

Ethnic NewsWatch 

Ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals from 1990 to present.

Google News Archive Search

An extension of Google News providing free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web, both free and paid.

Infotrac Newsstand 

Provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. 

LexisNexis Academic  

Online academic research database with news, U.S. legal documents, and business news and information.

Newspaper Source Plus 

A comprehensive database of the world's major newspapers.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

Collection of newspapers recording African-American history, culture, and daily life

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Digitized American newspaper pages from 1836-1922, as well as U.S. Newspaper Directory with newspapers from 1690-present.

Historical New York Times

Database within ProQuest of New York Times articles from 1851-2012.

Kansas Historical Newspapers, 1841-1981

Collection of newspapers recording Kansas history, culture, and daily life.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

Newspaper Database from the Gale NewsVault. Search multiple collections at once.

ProQuest Civil War Era

Nearly 2,000 pamphlets and complete runs of eight newspaper titles, covering 1840-1865.

19th Century British Library Newspapers

Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library.

Palmer's Index of The Times, 1790-1905

Archives of the British newspaper, The Times.

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2006

Newspaper Database from the Gale NewsVault. Search multiple collections at once.

Loading ...