Innovation and Inspiration: The Campaign for Kansas University

Special Collections Class Guide: News and Feature Writing

Welcome to the Libraries' MC 200: News and Feature Writing Class Guide. Click on the tabs above for more information. If you need additional help with special collections resources, please contact libsc@ksu.edu

Subject Guide

Keli Rylance's picture
Keli Rylance
Contact:
506B Hale Library
1117 Mid-Campus Drive North
Manhattan, KS 66506-1200
Website / Blog Page

Subject Vertical Files

Our subject vertical files include newspaper articles on specific topics related to the unveristy, community, and the region.

These files are available in Special Collections from 10 to 5, Monday to Friday. 

History Index

Special Collections' "History Index" was prepared and organized by K-State Professor Julius T. Willard.

The "Index" can be an important resource for researching historical topics on Kansas State history, Agricultural Extension, etc...  

These cards are available in Special Collections from 10 to 5, Monday to Friday. 

Photographs

The Morse Department of Special Collections has an extensive photographic history collection that can be accessed from 10 to 5, Monday through Friday. 

K-State Libraries has a growing amount of historical photographs in their digital collections

Kansas State's Communication and Marketing maintains a diverse digital photograph collection.

Select Collections


  • David Dary Papers (Journalism; American West)
    • The papers reflect the various stages of Dary’s impressive professional career, along with his early activities as a magician followed by years as a short wave radio enthusiast.  His career in broadcast journalism, most notably for CBS and NBC in Washington, D.C. during the 1960s, led to positions in the schools of journalism at the University of Kansas and the University of Oklahoma, where he served as director.  His passion for history combined with his writing ability and style enabled Dary to become a major western historian with countless articles in newspapers and journals, and over 20 books for which he has won numerous prestigious awards.
  • Marlin Fitzwater Papers
    • This collection documents the personal and professional life of Marlin Fitzwater. A K-State graduate, Fitzwater served as Assistant to the President for Press Relations under Ronald Reagan, and Press Secretary under George H.W. Bush. The bulk of the records in this collection were produced by and/or created by Fitzwater in his years in the White House.
  • Robert Bontrager Papers
    • This collection includes serial publications from African-American publishers throughout the nation between 1964 and 1978.  Robert Bontrager used these materials to teach his "Black Press in America" course from 1970 to 1989.  There is representation from national publications like Ebony Jr! and The Journal of Negro Education, as well as smaller publications like Sepia (Fort Worth, Texas) and The Facts (Seattle, Washington).
  • Additional Finding Aids in Special Collections
    • Access to Special Collections' content management system for archival collections, Archon.