ENGL 355 - Literature for Children

Library Research Guide

American Library Association Award

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards

Black pyramid with a black circle surrounding it. Both are outlined in gold.

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood. 

2014 Winners and Honor Books

Author award winner - Rita Williams-Garcia, author of P.S. Be Eleven

Three girls playing double dutch jump rope

Author award honor - Walter Dean Myers, author of Darius and Twig

Bright red shadow of a boy and bird against a yellow background

Author award honor - John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, authors of March: Book One

one group of people marching, another group of people sitting at a lunch counter

Author award honor - Nikki Grimes, author of Words with Wings

Green chair with an open book next to it. The book has a variety of objects floating out of it.

Illustrator award winner - Bryan Collier, illustrator of Knock Knock: My Dad's Dream for Me

Father holding son

Illustrator award honor - Kadir Nelson, illustrator and author of Nelson Mandela

Close up of Nelson Mandela's face

John Steptoe Award for New Talent - Theodore Taylor III, illustrator of When the Beat Was Born: DJ Kool Herc and the Creation of Hip Hop

Young man in striped shirt and headphones working with a record

Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement - Patricia and Frederick McKissack, authors of many award-winning children's books including Christmas in the Big House and Christmas in the Quarters and Sojourner Truth: Ain't I a Woman?

Slave owners and slaves gathered around the Christmas tree Black and white photograph of Sojourner Truth

For a complete list of previous winners and honor books (1970-2013), please see the award page. Search the library catalog to see if we have a specific title.