ENGL 355 - Literature for Children

Library Research Guide

American Library Association Award

Michael L. Printz Award

Awarded annually by the Young Adult Library Services Association, a division of the American Library Assocation, the Michael L. Printz Award honors the best book written for teens in the previous year. There are also honor books named every year in addition to the award winner. 

2014 Winner and Honor Books

Award winner - Midwinter Blood

Written by Marcus Sedgwick

Award honor book - Eleanor & Park

Written by Rainbow Rowell

Boy and girl listening to music through headphones

Award honor book - The Kingdom of Little Wounds

Written by Susann Cokal

A castle in shadow set against a pink backdrop. A gold border surrounds the castle and pink backdrop with several figures in gold.

Award honor book - Maggot Moon

Written by Sally Gardner

Close up of a boy's face with two differently-colored eyes

Award honor book - Navigating Early

Written by Clare Vanderpool

Two boys rowing down a river in a canoe

For a complete list of previous winners and honor books (2000-2013), please see the award page. Check the library catalog to see if we have a specific title.