ENGL 355 - Literature for Children

Library Research Guide

American Library Association Award

Newbery Medal

Bronze Newbery Medal

Awarded annually since 1922 by the Association for Library Services to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. There are also honor books named every year in addition to the award winner. 

2014 Winner and Honor Books

Award winner - Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures

Written by Kate DiCamillo and illustrated by K.G. Campbell

Girl with short hair and glasses

Award honor book - Doll Bones

Written by Holly Black and illustrated by Eliza Wheeler

Untidy doll sitting in a puddle. Boat with children in the background.

Award honor book - One Came Home

Written by Amy Timberlake

Old west town in the background with a big blue sky above it

Award honor book - Paperboy

Written by Vince Vawter

Boy standing in front of a house holding two newspaper bags

Award honor book - The Year of Billy Miller

Written and illustrated by Kevin Henkes

Little boy at bottom of page looking up at his blue hat floating at the top of the page

For a complete list of previous winners and honor books (1922-2013), please see the award page. Check the library catalog to see if we have a specific title.