ENGL 355 - Literature for Children

Library Research Guide

Emporia State University Award (Local Kansas Award)

William Allen White Children's Book Award


Established by Ruth Garver Gagliardo in 1952 and directed by Emporia State University in Emporia, KS, the William Allen White Children's Book Award honors the best books as chosen by Kansas schoolchildren. Named after a prominent Kansas citizen, the award is also meant to promote and encourage reading.

2014 Winners

Award winner - Grades 3-5 - America is Under Attack: September 11, 2001: The Day the Towers Fell

Written by Don Brown

New York City with the World Trade Center as the focal point

Award winner - Grades 6-8 - Hidden

Written by Helen Frost

 Two girls, brown and red hair flowing behind them, facing different directions

For a complete list of previous winners and honor books (1953-2012), please see the award page. Check the library catalog to see if we have a specific title.