Visit the Hale Library recovery website for fire-related updates.

ART 200 - Three Dimensional Design

This class guide supports research for the Spring 2018 sessions of ART200.

Art Locations in Hale Library

Room 117: The TP (Ceramics), TR (Photography), and TT500 (Apparel Fashion) call numbers are located here.

Current Periodicals: Near the small stairwell the Current Periodicals collection is comprised of our current print subscriptions. They are arranged in alphabetical order.

Reference Collection: These materials may be used in the library, but not checked out. Feel free to scan relevant pages using a scanner.

Music & Art collection: These are the M and N call numbers; the N call number range is the Visual Arts section (using the Library of Congress classification system). It is located near the elevators.

Oversize & Oversize Plus: These are exceedingly large books that are shelved together to save space.  From the main stairwell or the main elevator, these materials will be located to the left.

Media Collection: This is where you will find CDs. Browse the N and TR call numbers in this section for items related to art.

The Richard L. D. and Marjorie J. Morse Department of Special Collections houses many materials relevant to art and design. Materials may not be taken from the reading room but a scanner is available. The department acquires, preserves, and digitizes a rich array of historic materials. It counts among its fundamental functions not only the preservation of the past, but also the collection of works that celebrate living creative traditions.

The Limited Editions Collection is of particular interest to art students. A collection of over 600 volumes, Kansas State University is only one or four universities to have a complete collection. Established in 1929 by George Macy, each Limited Editions Club book was issued via mail to club subscribers. The books include original art by famous illustrators, photographers, and major artists (most of whom hand-signed each copy); they also feature fine typography, design, and binding in a tribute to the art of bookmaking.

Ray Bradbury, “Fahrenheit 451,” 1982, illus. by Joe Mugnaini. Franz Kafka, “Metamorphosis,” 1984, illus. by Jose Luis Cuevas. Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, “Frankenstein, or the Modern Prometheus,” 1934, illus. by Everett Henry.
Ray Bradbury, “Fahrenheit 451,” 1982, illus. by Joe Mugnaini. Franz Kafka, “Metamorphosis,” 1984, illus. by Jose Luis Cuevas. Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, “Frankenstein, or the Modern Prometheus,” 1934,
illus. by Everett Henry.

Open Monday–Friday, 8am–5pm

Loading ...

Browse by Location

Call Numbers: It is easier to browse the Hale Library shelves if you know what the call numbers mean. Most art-related resources (books and older issues of magazines/journals) are located in the N call number range on the 4th floor.

Ceramics, photography, textiles and some crafts are located in the T call number range on the 1st floor in Room 117. Topics in the T range have artistic as well as scientific and technological applications.

Other helpful call number ranges:

  • N = Visual Arts (General)
  • NA = Architecture
  • NB = Sculpture
  • NC = Drawing, Design, Illustration
  • ND = Painting
  • TP = Ceramics
  • TR = Photography
  • TT = Arts & Crafts, Handicrafts

For more specific information, see the Library of Congress Classification Outline