Articles about Art
The Art Full Text database is especially helpful for finding articles on contemporary art and design. On the list of results, you may notice that some of the articles are available in HTML Full Text, some as PDF Full Text, and some offer both. The PDF Full Text option includes images. If you are unable to locate the PDF copy, use our Interlibrary Loan service to request a copy with images (indicate in the Notes that images are required). Note: Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Art Full Text
Publication Dates Covered: Indexing 1982 - present; abstracts 1994 - present; select full text 1997 - present Simultaneous users: 4 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Addresses “art” in the broadest sense including topics relevant to archaeology, architecture, art history, ceramics, fashion design, graphic arts, interior design, landscape architecture, metalsmithing, photography, sculpture, textiles and more. Includes content from international arts journals, periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
JSTOR is particularly helpful in researching art history and includes many full text articles.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
A full-text collection of more than 550 core journals ranging from history to business to literature to science and mathematics. Coverage begins with the first issue of a title, but the most recent three to five years of each title are usually not available. The full article text is searchable.
Oxford Art Online is a portal to reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries) and includes links to art images in galleries and museums. Entries are scholarly and include bibliographies.
Oxford Art Online
Simultaneous users: 10 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Formerly Grove Art Online, this is the definitive encyclopedia for the arts and design. This portal to Oxford art reference products includes cross-referenced articles and links to art images in galleries and museums. Articles are scholarly and include bibliographic references. This database contains Grove Art Online (the entire text of The Dictionary of Art), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and is continually updated.
ProQuest Research Library is an interdisciplinary database that indexes many popular, trade, and research publications on topics in art and design.
ProQuest Research Library
Publication Dates Covered: 1971 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is a good starting point for finding journal articles on almost any topic. Over 150 academic subject areas are covered, and most articles are full-text. Searches can be limited to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Print Magazines in Hale Library
We currently subscribe to print copies of these titles found in our Current Periodicals section (1st floor Hale Library). This is a sample list. Older issues are shelved by call number:
| American Craft (NK 1. C73)
|| Crafts (TT 1. C73)
| American Indian Art (E 98. A7 A45)
|| Design (Z 253. 5. D47)
| Art Nexus (N 6502. 5. A78)
|| Metalsmith (NK 6400. M43)
| Art Papers (NX 506. A77)
|| Sculpture (NB 1. S37)
| Artforum (N 1. A814)
|| Smithsonian (AS 30. A6)
| ArtNews (N 1. A6)
|| World Sculpture News (NB 1. W67)
For these materials:
- Once you have used these materials, please do not put them back on the shelf — leave them on a cart, or on a table instead (this gives us the opportunity to gather statistics on how our materials are being used).
- Free scanners are available for your use.
- Issues in the Current Periodicals section are arranged alphabetically, and are not available for check out.
- Older issues are bound (similar to books), shelved by call number, and are available for 3 day check out.