Innovation and Inspiration: The Campaign for Kansas University

Prairie Studies Initiative Resources

The Prairie Studies Initiative aims to strengthen dialogue and inspire creative scholarship among those engaged in studying the natural ecosystems, history, culture, and livelihoods of the prairies.

Head, Richard L.D. & Marjorie J. Morse Department of Special Collections

Keli Rylance's picture
Keli Rylance
Contact:
506B Hale Library
1117 Mid-Campus Drive North
Manhattan, KS 66506-1200
Website / Blog Page

Welcome to Special Collections

 Reading room banner

 

The Morse Department of Special Collections is located on the 5th floor of Hale Library. The department invites researchers to delve into history, engage in discovery, and contribute to scholarship. There are over one million items in the collection, including manuscripts, archival records, rare books, photographs, recordings, and ephemera.

 

Reading Room Basics

Reading Room

 

  • Hours: 10am to 5pm; Monday – Friday. 
  • Everyone wishing to access the collection must register and fill out the request slip (at front desk).
  • Keep food and drinks away and place cell phones on silent. 
  • Store personal belongings in security closet.
  • Bring laptops, pencils (no pens), and paper.
  • Public scanner available.
  • White gloves are needed to handle historical photographs.
  • We can place materials on hold for you. 

Helpful Guides and Forms

Special Collections black and white photo banner

 

Morse Department of Special Collections Forms and Information

Additional Information about Using Archives