Visit the Hale Library recovery website for fire-related updates.

Education Research for Graduate Students

This is a guide for graduate students doing education research

Finding Resources - articles

Databases:

To get to databases, go to the Libraries’ home page and click on databases under the search box. Databases will find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles (and in some cases other materials like book chapters, dissertations, conference presentations, pamphlets, etc.) 

Recommended databases for education research include:

Education databases:

The primary databases for education are ERIC and Education Full-Text. Use GetIT to help you find the full articles if the database only provides a citation or abstract.

Other useful databases for this class:

PsycInfo – Search psychology topics. Provides many useful search limits and a thesaurus that allows you to search for synonyms and related terms, as well as a limit for qualitative research methodology.

SAGE Research Methods Online: A reference resource that will help you understand methods and create research projects.

And a few more to be aware of:

Web of Science and Scopus: In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles, you can do a "cited reference" search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited.

K-REx: K-State Research Exchange provides access to scholarly materials created by K-State faculty and students, including journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, white papers, electronic thesis/dissertation/reports (ETDR), and other digital resources.

Dissertations and Theses Full-Text – Find full-text copies of most dissertations written after 1996, and many earlier. If the full-text is not available, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.

WorldCat: Information about books, serials, videos, and other items cataloged by OCLC member institutions including K-State. Contains more than 57 million records with bibliographic information and information regarding which libraries hold the item in question. If K-State does not own the item you need, use GetIT to request it through Interlibrary Loan.

 

Finding Resources - books

Books:

Use the Search It box on the Libraries' home page to find books and other materials owned by K-State Libraries. 

WorldCat contains Information about books, serials, videos, and other items cataloged by libraries including K-State. It contains bibliographic information and information regarding which libraries hold the item in question. If K-State does not own the item you need, use Get It to request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Google Books lists almost every book ever published, and will often give you a preview of the contents of the book. If K-State does not own the item you need, you can fill out an Interlibrary Loan Request.