Welcome to the Libraries' ENGL 698 Class Guide! This guide is designed to familiarize you with resources at K-State Libraries and elsewhere in order to further your research. If this guide does not have the information you are looking for, don't hesitate to Ask A Librarian for help any time during the Libraries' service hours.
Contact Sara K. Kearns for a research consultation via phone, email, Zoom (video conference), or in person!
Go directly to the K-State Libraries home page
Reference materials include biographies and encyclopedia-type sources that provide a factual overview of or introduction to an author, work, or genre.
Use simple searches in these resources such as:
- author's name (e.g. Tananarive Due)
- work title (e.g. My soul to keep)
- genre (e.g. gothic)
Literary Reference Center
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Offers full-text reference resources geared primarily toward undergraduate students. In addition to critical reviews of literature and encyclopedias, the Literary Reference Center also provides biographies, book reviews, author interviews, synopses and work overviews, literary journals, classic novels, and classic and contemporary short stories and poems.
Literary Sources (formerly Literature Resource Center)
Simultaneous users: 2 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
These resources discuss authors, works, and genres within literary, social, or philosophical frames.
Due to the number of articles and other sources you may find, use complex or precise searches to identify relevant material
- bio-power OR biopower
- "magic realism" AND "African American"
- Foucault AND fantasy
Use synonyms and related terms. It's difficult to predict what term a researcher prefers, and language changes over time:
- novel OR literature OR fiction
- horror OR fantastic OR terror
When you find a good source, mine it for other search terms. Look particularly at:
Keep a list of your search terms to try in multiple databases.
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)
Publication Dates Covered: 1920 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature includes scholarly articles, books, and reviews pertaining to the English Language. First published in 1920 and maintained to the present date, it covers subject topics of drama, poetry, fiction, biography, literary theory, film, onomastics, lexicography, and dialectology. This product ideally complements the MLA Bibliography.
America: History and Life
Publication Dates Covered: 1964 - present Simultaneous users: 6 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Indexes and abstracts approximately 1,700 journals in the field of United States and Canadian history. Includes links to 103,000 full text articles and reviews.
Diversity Database Suite
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Provides a combined search for Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch History which feature newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses; GenderWatch which features historical and current perspectives of gender roles; and Alt-Press Watch which showcases some of the nation’s most respected and cited grassroots publications. Searches can be narrowed to peer-reviewed publications.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Paid for by K-State Libraries
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is a comprehensive work for literature study. It is comprised of nearly 300 entries on subjects pertaining to critics and theorists, important figures, schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific historical periods.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography (ProQuest Expires 2019)
Publication Dates Covered: 1926 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is the largest and most comprehensive database for literary criticism in all languages. Also covers folklore, linguistics, and film studies. Includes journal and book articles, books, and dissertations. Does not index book reviews in literary journals.
MLA International Bibliography: Search Tips
Below are two ways to search to increase the relevancy of your search results in MLA: use options on the Advanced Search screen and expand your search terms using the Thesaurus.
Advanced in this case means special search features for literary researchers, not that you have to be a literature expert. Advanced search features include searching by:
- Author as subject
Below is a screen shot of the Advanced Search screen, including the search options that appear when you click on the Anywhere option in the search boxes.
Use the Thesaurus to identify terms commonly used by literary researchers.
- appears as an option on the Advanced Search screen
- identifies alternative search terms, including broader, narrower, and related terms
Not all keywords will appear in the Thesaurus; not all terms in the Thesaurus will have alternative terms.
A sample Thesaurus search:
- Link to the Thesaurus from the Advanced Search page.
- Enter your keyword in the search term box. The image below shows a search for the keyword middle.
- All the subject terms that appear contain the word middle.
- Switch to subject terms that begin with middle by clicking the Begins with option under the search term box.
- Click on a subject term to open a new window.
Below is a screenshot of the Thesaurus screen that appears for the term African American middle class. Note that the Thesaurus offers two Broader Terms and one Narrower Term:
- Click the box to the left of any of the subject terms that you want to include in your search.
- Once you have selected all of the terms to include, click on the Add to search button at the bottom of the box, then Close.
- You will be returned to the Advanced Search screen with the new subject terms added.
Searching for items on a topic in K-State Libraries
Use K-State Libraries Only option to search for books, videos, and other items owned by K-State Libraries.
Enter keywords to search for items on a topic.
Search It shows if an item is available and where it is shelved.
1. Enter keywords in Search It's search box.
2. Click K-State Libraries only option to search for items owned by K-State Libraries.
3. Item record shows if an item is available and where it is shelved.
4. Virtual Browse shows items shelved nearby the item you found. They have similar call numbers, so will usually be about a similar topic.
Searching for a specific title in Search It
Use Search It to search for specific titles in K-State Libraries.
Enter title in the Search It search box.