RefWorks users have two options for moving existing references into the New RefWorks.
Automatically import your Mendeley database by clicking on the when viewing your documents in RefWorks and selecting Mendeley.
Or, manually move your Mendeley database:
To add an item to RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon at the top of the page. If you plan on adding the item to an existing collection, click on the collection first, then click the Add a reference icon .
You'll have three options:
You can drag and drop a document (.pdf, .doc, etc.) directly into the Upload document box to upload an existing MS Office, Open Office or .pdf file from your computer. Only one document per item allowed.
You can import references from a text file in the formats offered. From the import references screen, you will able to drag and drop the file onto the page to begin importing.
Using Create new reference you can manually enter your bibliographic data or drag and drop a file to be imported as well.
Tip: If you have multiple documents to add to RefWorks, you can select and drag them all at once. RefWorks will create separate items for each.
Regardless of which option you choose, RefWorks attempts to auto-complete the reference fields on the page. RefWorks’s document recognition feature is compiled from a combination of authoritative citation sources, ProQuest databases, and end-user generated content and is continually revised and optimized to deliver the best possible results.
You can change the reference type and manually edit the reference fields. Plus additional fields can be added using the Add more fields drop down box at the bottom of the page.
Once you have manually added your item using one of these options, click Save and your item will be added to your RefWorks library.
RefWorks makes it easy to import documents from your computer by dragging and dropping documents or uploading citation information from a file.
RefWorks will try to recognize and populate the reference information using our document authority. RefWorks will present you with possible matches which you can select to populate the reference fields.
If you want to add your documents to a specific folder, make sure you’re viewing the folder first, then drag and drop the file(s).
If you do not need your documents in a specific folder, drag and drop documents in the All Documents view and you can file them in collections once they are uploaded.
Need to import from a file? No problem. RefWorks supports hundreds of formats including RIS, BibTeX, and PubMed.
Click the icon at the top of the page. If you plan on adding the item to an existing collection, click on the collection first, then click the icon .
Follow the screen directions to drag and drop a file into RefWorks, or use the link to "select a file from your computer" and upload it.