Hale Library Will Remain Closed Until Further Notice. For future updates see k-state.edu/update.
Due to the Fire, K-State Libraries' Access to Databases Has Been Temporarily Interrupted
Library staff are asked to communicate with supervisors and employees via phone and text until full email access is restored

Morse Department

Basic Guide to Locating Materials from Special Collections & University Archives

Welcome!

Old drawing of Kansas State University grounds. Link opens to new window showing larger view.

Welcome to the Libraries' Special Collections Research Guide! This guide is meant to help you discern what resources are available from the Richard L. D. and Marjorie J. Morse Department of Special Collections.

Please note that some materials are digitized and available online; others require a visit to the department's Reading Room. Please consult the appropriate sub-page relevant to the type of resource you seek. 

Collection Guides

Are you hoping to locate archival records in the Morse Department? Things such as scrapbooks? Photographs? Diaries? Letters? Organizational or institutional records?

If so, consult this page.

Digital Special Collections

Are you trying to locate digitized newspapers, photographs, scrapbooks and yearbooks from Special Collections?

If so, consult this page.

Published Works

Are you hoping to find cookbooks? Published reports? Books written by K-State faculty? Books about the history of Kansas or the Consumer Movement?

If you want to know how to limit your search to what is available in the Special Collections Department, consult this page.

Collection Strengths

The Richard L. D. and Marjorie J. Morse Department of Special Collections acquires, preserves and digitizes a rich array of historic materials. Located on the 5th floor of Hale Library, Special Collections is committed to enhancing and expanding its holdings in support of its teaching, learning, and academic research community.

The Morse Department focuses its collections on four subject areas: The Consumer Movement, Cookery, Kansas Life & Culture, and Kansas State History. If you want to know more about these collection strengths, please follow the links below. Links will open in a new tab.