Athletic Training

Welcome! This guide is designed to help you learn how to use K-State Libraries' many resources to complete your athletic training assignments.

Library Research Guide

Databases for Athletic Training

The databases listed below are the primary resources you will use. They are listed in preferential order, so begin with the first one and go to the other databases as needed.

Exception: FNDH 320 students can start with SPORTDiscus and move down the list as needed.

Cochrane Library
Best resource for finding high quality, high level of evidence articles. All articles are peer-reviewed. It contains systematic reviews which are Level 1 evidence.
PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Free resource* from Australia that contains systematic reviews. Be careful though as the ranking of the levels of evidence may be different from the U.S. (*You will still have access to it when you leave K-State.)
SPORTDiscus
Great database for all things sport. You are looking for peer-reviewed articles, be sure to select that in the "Limit your results" box on the search screen. (Only 4 people can use this at one time. Consider another database if you get turned away or try again later.)
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium
- This link opens in a new window
Information for nurses and allied health professionals who are dealing directly with patients/clients and their families. Because of this the content can be easier to understand as compared to PubMed. Similar to SPORTDiscus, it has peer-reviewed as a limit.
PubMed
Primary resource for finding medical research. It is a free resource, available everywhere. Search it through the Libraries' website for access to subscription-based resources freely available to K-State students. There is no box to select for peer reviewed in PubMed although most of the articles are peer reviewed.

PubMed Searching Help
Provides a wide range of searching hints and tutorials. All tutorials were created by PubMed staff.

Other resources

UpToDate
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Point-of-care resource containing evidence-based decisions for treatment recommendations or drug information through a collection of patient and practitioner resources. Includes a variety of medical calculators. Contains more than 11,800 topics covering 25 specialties.
Contractually, access to UpToDate is only available via the proxy IP.

UpToDate help videos provide short, 2-minute reviews of various functions.

These next resources are free, but broad in their content. You will need to use more terms, including the type of evidence you are looking for, in your results.

Search It searches all types of resources, print and online, on all subjects. On the results page, narrow by selecting the peer reviewed journals option to the left of the results listing.

Search Google Scholar through the Libraries' website to have access to content paid for by the Libraries. Start here at the Gs and scroll until you see the entry.