To get to databases, go to the Libraries’ home page and click on databases under the search tab. Databases will find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles (and in some cases other materials like book chapters, dissertations, conference presentations, pamphlets, etc.)
Recommended databases for this class include:
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
One of our main education databases. It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, and provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books
Education Full Text
The other main education database, it includes periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks, including some not covered in ERIC.
America: History and Life
Includes journals covering United States and Canadian history. Check CLIO Notes at the top for an overview of historical periods.
A full-text collection of more than 550 core journals including history and education. Coverage begins with the first issue of a title, but the most recent three to five years of each title are usually not available. The full article text is searchable.
New York Times, Historical
Digitized version of The New York Times since its first issue in 1851. Search the full text of articles to find articles on a wide variety of topics.
Full-text scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Titles include the most widely held and heavily used core titles from noted academic publishers. Subject include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, mathematics and others.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A collection of primary materials from the 19th century on all kinds of topics. Fully searchable documents, books, images, maps, and other types of materials.
Use the Search It box on the Libraries' home page to find books and other materials owned by K-State Libraries.
WorldCat contains Information about books, serials, videos, and other items cataloged by libraries including K-State. It contains bibliographic information and information regarding which libraries hold the item in question. If K-State does not own the item you need, use Get It to request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Google Books lists almost every book ever published, and will often give you a preview of the contents of the book. If K-State does not own the item you need, you can fill out an Interlibrary Loan Request.
Find books with Search It