Innovation and Inspiration: The Campaign for Kansas University

EDCI 886 - Historical Research Methods in Education

A guide for students doing historical education research for EDCI 886

RefWorks and citing

Keep track of the sources you use for your research so you can cite them in your paper and bibliography. It is very important to cite your sources to provide appropriate credit for the ideas of other researchers to avoid plagiarism. You will create a citation whenever you use the words (direct quote) or ideas (paraphrase) from another author. Failing to do so is a violation of the K-State Honor Code.

You will use Chicago style to cite the articles you find. 

Many databases have a "cite" link on the records that will help you create a citation in the appropriate format, like this one in ERIC:

Example of citation from ERIC



Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) is an excellent resource for Chicago style and other citation formats.

RefWorks is a bibliographic management tool that will allow you to collect your citations and format bibliographies for your research. I highly recommend using RefWorks or another bibliographic management tool. It will save you lots of time in writing your bibliographies, but be sure to proofread - it isn't perfect! Once you have logged into RefWorks, there are great tutorials under its "help" tab, and more information and tips on the RefWorks tab of the Citations and Bibliographies LibGuide.

Find more citation tools on our Citations and Bibliographies research guide.