Use music encyclopedias to find background information on musicians, instruments, styles of music, and much more. They are a great place to start your research. The entries in scholarly encyclopedias offer an overview of the topic, provide dates, list the pieces a musician composed, and include additional citations for expanding your research.
Histories and Research Leads
Oxford Music Online
Includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Opera, and New Grove Jazz.
More Online Encyclopedias
The two offered above are great resources. If you are curious, you can find other online encyclopedias in Search It. Use advanced search and do these things:
- choose the "K-State Libraries only" tab
- set the search to "in subject contains music"
- use a second line to search "in the title contains encyclopedia"
- filter the results to "Full Text Online."
There are many advantages of print resources such as these. They are located in the Music Reference area on the 4th floor.
The Grove Dictionary of American Music
Call Number: ML101.U6 N48 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-26
The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition is the largest, most comprehensive reference publication on American Music. The articles of the dictionary range from small definitions of dance styles and musical terms to mid-length biographies of important performers, composers and music patrons, to longer examinations of larger subjects such as the history of jazz, musical instruments, music education in the United States, and the American history of the orchestra.