Where to search for articles
To get to databases, go to the Libraries’ home page and click on databases at the bottom of the Search It box. Databases will find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles (and in some cases other materials like book chapters, dissertations, conference presentations, pamphlets, and more).
These are some databases that work very well for researching in Gender, Women and Sexuality Studies. Because GWSS is an interdisciplinary field, you may need to search in different databases ranging from general to sociology or literature or education. We have many more databases than the ones listed here. If you would like help finding the best one, ask a librarian!
Diversity Database Suite
Provides a combined search for Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch History which feature newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses; GenderWatch which features historical and current perspectives of gender roles; and Alt-Press Watch which showcases some of the nation’s most respected and cited grassroots publications. Searches can be narrowed to peer-reviewed publications.
ProQuest Research Library
This is a good starting point for finding journal articles on almost any topic. Over 150 academic subject areas are covered, and most articles are full-text. Searches can be limited to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Here are some subject area databases you might find useful:
Our main database for searching for articles, dissertations, books, and more that are written from a psychological perspective. Note that PsycINFO is not covered by the Search It box on the Libraries' home page.
Search international literature in sociology and related disciplines.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Our main database for education related research. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
An on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
SAGE Research Methods
Helps users create research projects and understand the methods behind them. It includes over 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and the “Little Green Book” and “Little Blue Book” series. Journal articles and videos are also included.
How to search
Most databases, although they look different, search in similar ways. You can search the databases in many ways to find relevant research, including:
- If the database has a thesaurus, use it to help you find appropriate subject terms.
- Use a keyword search for the specific subject you are interested in (race, professional development, leadership, etc...).
Constructing your search
- Use OR between search terms when you want to find either word, AND when you want both.
- Try truncating keywords using asterisks: ethnograph* to get ethnography or ethnographic.
- Put phrases in quotes: “case study” “grounded theory”.
- Use limits to help find the specific kind of article you want. For example, PsycINFO lets you limit by population or type of study (e.g. quantitative or qualitative).
- If you need empirical research articles and are having trouble finding them, try adding the words: “research methods”, data, results, discussion, study (not all of these words will appear in every article, so try using just a few or combining them in different ways.)
- Try adding a keyword for a specific type of methodology -- quantitative, qualitative, ethnography, "case study", etc…
- Most databases have a limit for scholarly or peer-reviewed articles.
Here is an example of a search using PsycINFO. The first line searches for "cognit*". The asterisk allows it to be a longer word, so we will get cognitive, cognition, etc. On the second line, aging OR gerontology means that it will find sources with EITHER of those words.
Use Search It
Search It is a tool that you can use to search across the library collection. This video (2:32) gives a brief introduction to using Search It. (Clicking on the gear icon allows you to increase the resolution.)
Introduction to Search It (K-State Libraries)
Getting the articles
Many of the articles you find will be available online. If you don’t see the full text on the database you are searching, use the Get It button to see if the full text of the article is available through another source. If you find a citation to something that we don’t own, most of the time we can borrow it from another library. Please allow yourself enough time to do this! It takes up to 2-5 business days for articles and 5-7 business days for books (or longer if you are off campus). Click on “Request an Interlibrary Loan” on the library home page or “Request from Interlibrary Loan” from the Get It menu. For more information, see our Interlibrary Services page.