- Library Home
- Research Guides
- Landscape Architecture
- Articles & Reference
Landscape Architecture
A subject guide to support research in the field of Landscape Architecture.
Library Research Guide
Recommended Databases
Each of these resources address different aspects of architecture and planning.
- Art Full Text
This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates Covered: Indexing 1982 - present; abstracts 1994 - present; select full text 1997 - present Paid for by the State Library of Kansas
Addresses “art” in the broadest sense including topics relevant to archaeology, architecture, art history, ceramics, fashion design, graphic arts, interior design, landscape architecture, metalsmithing, photography, sculpture, textiles and more. Includes content from international arts journals, periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. - Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsPublication Dates Covered: 1934 - present; selectively 1741 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, this database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Article descriptions cover American and international journals from scholarly and popular periodical literature, publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. - TRID: Transportation Research Information DatabasePublication Dates Covered: 1922 - present Free Resource how to search
TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide and is comprised of the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. - Urban Land Institute (ULI) Development Case StudiesUrban Land Institute Development Case Studies provide examples of successful building projects and project data, including budgetary expenditures, floor plans, designer information, and methodology. Processes and retrospective analysis are also available to help users think critically about design and implementation.
Create a guest account for limited access to case studies.
Resources on U.S. and international history.
- America: History & LifePublication Dates Covered: 1964 - present Simultaneous users: 6 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Indexes and abstracts for approximately 1,800 journals in the field of United States and Canadian history. Full-text coverage for more than 280 journals and more than 80 books. Contains citations and links to book and media reviews. Can search by time period. - Kansas Historical Newspapers Archive, 1841-1981 (America’s Historical Newspapers)Publication Dates Covered: 1841-1981 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Collection of significant historical Kansas newspapers from the time before Kansas was a state, to the recent past. Includes complete, searchable issues. These newspapers are a subset of African-American Newspapers, Series II. - Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersPublication Dates Covered: 1756-1963 Free Resource
Search U.S. newspapers (or just Kansas Newspapers) published between 1777 and 1963.. Excellent database of primary source material. - JSTORPaid for by K-State Libraries
A full-text collection of more than 550 core journals ranging from history to business to literature to science and mathematics. Coverage begins with the first issue of a title, but the most recent three to five years of each title are usually not available. The full article text is searchable. - New York Times, HistoricalPublication Dates Covered: 1851-2020 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Digitized version of The New York Times since its first issue in 1851. Search the full text of articles to find articles on a wide variety of topics. Full name of the database is ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index.
Each of these databases includes detailed information about building materials.
- BuildingGreenPaid for by K-State Libraries
Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green. - Material ConneXionPaid for by K-State Libraries
A database of contemporary materials used in industry, construction, and other aspects of life. It provides information about the properties of the materials, current uses, their producers and places of production.
Each individual user of Material ConneXion is limited to 100 downloads per day
These resources address the relationships between the natural and built environment.
- AGRICOLA (AGRICultural Online Access)
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates Covered: 1970 - present Paid for by the State Library of Kansas
Contains citations from the National Agricultural Library. Around 2,500 journals are indexed as well as USDA publications, state agricultural experiment station and extension services documents, conference proceedings, books, theses, and audio-visual materials. All aspects of agriculture are covered. - GreenFILEPaid for by K-State Libraries
Non-K-Staters: use this link
GreenFILE resources examine the connection between humans and the environment, from both positive and negative perspectives. 200 scholarly and general interest titles covering agriculture, education, law, health and technology are included. - Environmental Studies (Gale In Context)Paid for by K-State Libraries
The resources cover topics like food safety, sustainability, healthcare, the impact of economic development on international relations and include news articles, videos, government documents and other primary source materials as well as interactive maps, refereed case studies, multimedia and so on. The information is arranged in 3 sections – issue, organization or country.
This list includes general databases (covering a broad range of topics) and authoritative dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford.
- Oxford Art OnlinePaid for by K-State Libraries
Formerly Grove Art Online, this is the definitive encyclopedia for the arts and design. This portal to Oxford art reference products includes cross-referenced articles and links to art images in galleries and museums. Articles are scholarly and include bibliographic references. This database contains Grove Art Online (the entire text of The Dictionary of Art), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and is continually updated. - Oxford English Dictionary (OED)Paid for by K-State Libraries
Online edition of one of the most authoritative sources for the English language. More manageable than the print edition and updated quarterly. - ProQuest Research LibraryPublication Dates Covered: 1971 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is a good starting point for finding journal articles on almost any topic. Over 150 academic subject areas are covered, and most articles are full-text. Searches can be limited to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. - Data Axle Reference SolutionsPaid for by K-State Libraries
The Reference Solutions U.S. Businesses database includes more than 60 million businesses (public and private) in the United States. Use the database to identify customers or competitors by industry classification of geographic location. - ScopusPublication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Searching Tips: Databases
Database fundamentals:
- Searching these resources is different from searching the Internet or surfing "online."
- They offer electronic access to articles, book chapters, reports, etc. that have been compiled and cataloged by a reputable organization.
- K-State Libraries pays to subscribe to the databases and the information found here is generally not found in an online search or freely available on the Internet. Databases are global in scope and content. Their content is created and maintained by various companies and organizations.
Searching:
- Keywords: Before you begin, break your topic into key concepts; think about the terminology/vocabulary you wish to search for and possible synonyms. Remember that there is often more than one way to express the a concept.
- Advanced Search: Look for the "Guided Search" or "Advanced Search" options so that you have more search boxes. This will allow greater control over your searches and allow you to use Boolean Operators (AND & OR).
- AND = both concepts must be present, helps limit the search (Ex. stormwater AND management)
- OR = great for synonyms, helps broaden the search while staying within the subject area (Ex. "universal design" OR "inclusive design")
- Ex. History AND ("universal design" OR "inclusive design")
- Subject Headings: Look for "Subject Headings", "Subjects", "Keywords" or "Descriptors" to help narrow your search. These are fancy names for tags that group topics by category. Different databases may recognize different terms and as you find these tags, you can construct your search using the language/terminology of that database. (See discussion of Subject Headings under the "Searching the K-State Libraries Catalog" above).
- Get It: No full text available? Click on the PowerCat symbol or the Get It button (which one you see depends on which database you're searching). The Get It button will search for the article you're after in all of our other database subscriptions (looking for an electronic copy), if it's not there, it will look for a print copy available on campus, and if it still doesn't find it you will be connected to Interlibrary Loan ("We will try to get it for you ..."). Interlibrary Loan can obtain items that K-State Libraries does not own -- they simply borrow it from another library and e-mail you when it arrives.
