Searching for scholarly academic journal articles? These databases are your best starting point.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography (ProQuest Expires 2019)
Publication Dates Covered: 1926 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is the largest and most comprehensive database for literary criticism in all languages. Also covers folklore, linguistics, and film studies. Includes journal and book articles, books, and dissertations. Does not index book reviews in literary journals.
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)
Publication Dates Covered: 1920 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature includes scholarly articles, books, and reviews pertaining to the English Language. First published in 1920 and maintained to the present date, it covers subject topics of drama, poetry, fiction, biography, literary theory, film, onomastics, lexicography, and dialectology. This product ideally complements the MLA Bibliography.
Publication Dates Covered: 1995 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Full-text scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Titles include the most widely held and heavily used core titles from noted academic publishers. Subjects include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, mathematics and others.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
A full-text collection of more than 550 core journals ranging from history to business to literature to science and mathematics. Coverage begins with the first issue of a title, but the most recent three to five years of each title are usually not available. The full article text is searchable.
MLA International Bibliography: Search Tips
Below are two ways to search to increase the relevancy of your search results in MLA: use options on the Advanced Search screen and expand your search terms using the Thesaurus.
Advanced in this case means special search features for literary researchers, not that you have to be a literature expert. Advanced search features include searching by:
- Author as subject
Below is a screen shot of the Advanced Search screen, including the search options that appear when you click on the Anywhere option in the search boxes.
Use the Thesaurus to identify terms commonly used by literary researchers.
- appears as an option on the Advanced Search screen
- identifies alternative search terms, including broader, narrower, and related terms
Not all keywords will appear in the Thesaurus; not all terms in the Thesaurus will have alternative terms.
A sample Thesaurus search:
- Link to the Thesaurus from the Advanced Search page.
- Enter your keyword in the search term box. The image below shows a search for the keyword middle.
- All the subject terms that appear contain the word middle.
- Switch to subject terms that begin with middle by clicking the Begins with option under the search term box.
- Click on a subject term to open a new window.
Below is a screenshot of the Thesaurus screen that appears for the term African American middle class. Note that the Thesaurus offers two Broader Terms and one Narrower Term:
- Click the box to the left of any of the subject terms that you want to include in your search.
- Once you have selected all of the terms to include, click on the Add to search button at the bottom of the box, then Close.
- You will be returned to the Advanced Search screen with the new subject terms added.