Visit the Hale Library recovery website for fire-related updates.

English

This guide serves as a starting point for locating and evaluating information for English.

Start Here

Whether researching an aspect of today's popular culture in the U.S. or kinship in the Balkans, start your search in the database ProQuest Research Library. It covers publications ranging from popular titles like:

  • Daily Beast
  • Variety
  • New Yorker
  • Jet
  • Outdoor Life

to academic/scholarly titles like:

  • Economist
  • Journal of Leisure Research
  • Asian Ethnology

Cultures & Identities

Gain insight by understanding the culture and identities encountered in a cultural object.

The Dow Center for Multicultural and Community Studies on Hale's 4th floor houses encyclopedias and other reference books about cultures around the world. Some titles include:

Need more information? Search in Search It for terms that identify a culture or identity and the term encyclopedia or dictionary.

For example:

  • punk AND encyclopedia
  • workers AND encyclopedia

Too many hits? Click on the K-State Libraries only tab and the majority of your results will be books or films owned by K-State, including print and ebooks.

These databases explore cultures and identities. All include academic materials, but you may find popular or community publications, too.

Cultural Expression

These databases provide primarily academic resources discussing how cultures express themselves.

History

Need to place a work in historical context? Try these two databases. America: History and Life covers U.S. and Canadian history. Historical Abstracts covers the rest of the world.

Both databases have an Advanced Search feature that will let you limit your search to a time frame in history.

Primary Sources

Sources that provide historical context include: photographs, newsreels, newspaper articles, maps, and music.

Primary sources date from the same time period or were written/created about an event by someone who experienced or witnessed it.  

Primary sources may be found in: databases, archives, museums, digital collections, books, personal collections (photo albums, attics, filing cabinets)

Digital Collections:

Many archives and museums are digitizing items in their collections to make them more widely available online. Their websites will may include digital archives or digital collections. 

Some significant websites exist to centrally collect and disseminate primary source materials. These include:

 

Library Databases:

K-State Libraries subscribe to a number of primary source databases.  These include:

Dictionaries

Biographies

Whether researching an author or a historical figure who appears in a work, these academic and scholarly biographies include references to additional sources of information.