Foreign Language News: Databases
Locate current foreign language newspapers through K-State Libraries using these databases. Nexis Uni provides the most comprehensive access to foreign language news sources.
Details about using Nexis Uni and Search It are provided below.
Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch History
Features newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic and minority presses throughout the U.S. Includes some titles in French, German, and Spanish.
Publication Dates Covered: 1994 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
An easy-to-use database of Hispanic magazines, most written in Spanish and available in full text. It covers business, health, technology, culture, and other current issues.
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Publication Dates Covered: 1990 - present; some titles have more Paid for by K-State Libraries
Access the full-text of documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include national and regional newspapers, wire services, and broadcast transcripts from around the world. Legal materials include federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information.
Search a Specific Publication
- Type the newspaper title in the first search box in Nexis Uni.
- A drop down menu will appear, displaying possible matches.
- Click on the title you want.
- The title will now appear in the search box, to the left of where you enter search terms.
Search Foreign Language News
- Enter search terms in first search box on main Nexis Uni page (PRO TIP: enter search terms in the language you need the articles to be written, e.g. not cat, but gato, chat, or katze.)
- From the search results page, go to the Narrow By box on the left side of the page.
- Select Language, then select the language(s) you need. You can also narrow by a specific publication using the Sources
Nexis Uni Search Tips
Spaces between words - Nexis Uni treats a space between search terms as an OR. It will show articles with any of the search terms, not all of the search terms. This can produce thousands of irrelevant sources. Use the tips below to control your search results.
- Quotation marks - use quotation marks to tell Nexis Uni that certain words must be searched as that exact phrase.
For example: "foie gras"
- AND - put the word AND in between all search terms/phrases that must appear anywhere in an article in order to be relevant to your research.
For example: Merkel AND CDU
- ATLEAST - tells Nexis Uni that a search term or phrase needs to appear "at least" so many times in a document.
For example: atleast5(Merkel)
Proximity Commands - these let you control how near to each other search terms need to appear in a document.
- Near - use NEAR to tell Nexis Uni how close search terms have to appear in order to be relevant to your research.
The search Quebec near/5 independence tells Nexis Uni that the words Quebec and independence have to appear within five words of each other.
- W/N or /N - similar to NEAR, W/N and /N tell Nexis Uni that the first word has to appear within so many words of the second word. N is always a number.
For example: Argentina w/10 "cueva de las manos"
- W/S or /S - used when search terms need to appear roughly within a sentence or 25 words of each other
- W/S or /P - used when search terms near to appear within roughly a paragraph or 75 words of each other
Search It now separates out newspaper articles from other results.
- Enter your search terms in the Search It box on the Libraries home page.
- From the search results page go to the Refine My Results options on the left side of the screen.
- Newspapers search should appear in a large, red font. Click on it to see newspaper articles.
Search It no longer displays articles from the Nexis Uni database (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic.) Search Nexis Uni directly to find the most complete collection of newspapers, both in English and other languages.
Free News Sites
Current news from around the world. Change news sources and language by selecting a country.
French Language News
Daily newspaper published Paris, France. Subscription may be required. Some articles available through Nexis Uni
French daily newspaper. Subscription may be required. Also available through Nexis Uni
French language weekly news magazine.
Agence France Presse
Agence France Presse (AFP) is an international news agency. News is available in French, English, Spanish, Portuguese, German, and Arabic.
Pan-African French-language news. May require subscription.
French language online newspaper published in Quebec, Montreal. Subscription may be required.
Le Journal de Québec
French language daily paper for Québec City. Subscription may be required.
Gallica - Historic Newspapers
Gallica provides digitized archives of French newspapers. All issues for all titles have not been digitized. Titles include:
- L' Action française, 1908 -1944
- Le Gaulois, 1868-1929
- Journal de Paris, 1777-1787
- Journal des Dèbats Politquest et Littèraires, 1814-1944
Local and regional papers are also available.
Spanish Language News
Colombian daily newspaper. Oldest paper still published in Colombia. Subscription may be required.
Live current news from Mexican TV Aztecas.
El Nuevo Día
Puerto-Rican daily newspaper. Subscription may be required. Also available through Nexis Uni
Daily newspaper in Ecuador. Subscription may be required.
German Language News
Austrian, German-language daily newspaper. Subscription may be required. Also available through Nexis Uni
Austrian daily newspaper. Subscription may be required. Also available through Nexis Uni
German weekly news magazine. Subscription may be required. Also available through Nexis Uni
Largest daily newspaper in Germany. Subscription may be required.
German daily news show.
German daily national newspaper. Subscription may be required. Also available through Nexis Uni
Neue Zürcher Zeitung
Swiss, German-language daily newspaper; published since 1780. Subscription may be required.
Swiss, German-language daily newspaper with a focus on Zürich. Subscription may be required. Also available through Nexis Uni