Hale Library Will Remain Closed Until Further Notice. For future updates see k-state.edu/update
Due to the Fire, K-State Libraries' Access to Databases Has Been Temporarily Interrupted
Library staff are asked to communicate with supervisors and employees via phone and text until full email access is restored
MLA Style Center
MLA Style Center is a resource for both students and faculty using MLA. Resources include
a quick guide to works cited
guidelines on formatting a research paper
Ask the MLA FAQ
Call Number: Hale Library Reserves--Request at Library Help, 2nd Floor
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.
Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) comes the MLA Formatting and Style Guide. Updated regularly, this guide provides information about:
works cited pages
MLA Works Cited: A Quick Guide
Guide to citing works. Relies on graphics to illustrate where to find the information you need to cite a source.
Chicago Manual of Style
Chicago Manual of Style is commonly used in literature, history and the arts.
You can use a variety of resources for using the Chicago style properly; we have listed some below to get you started.
Chicago Manual of Style
Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is the online edition of the standard guide to editorial style and publishing practices. Authors, publishers and students are able to find answers to particular questions or just browse general categories.
Chicago Manual of Style: Citation Quick Guide
Explains the differences between the two basic documentation systems (1. notes and bibliography, 2. author-date). Includes information about how to determine which system to use as well as examples illustrating citations for both systems.
Chicago Manual of Style: Manuscript Preparation
The tools provided here are intended to help authors prepare manuscripts for submission. They will also be of use to writers who are looking for models for procedure and content.
Chicago Manual of Style: Q & A
View questions from users answered by the Chicago Manual of Style manuscript editing department. You can also submit your own questions.
CMOS Shop Talk - For Students
Perplexed? Can't figure out how to cite an image or what to do with quotations? The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) people created this to help you.
- Is a citation management system available to all K-State students, staff, faculty and alumni free of charge.
- Allows users to store, organize, edit and/or create citations from a variety of resource types; including articles, books, web pages, images and more.
- Allows users to create bibliographies from stored references in hundreds of available styles, including APA, MLA, IEEE, and Chicago.
- Offers a plugin for Microsoft Word on both PCs and Macs that allows users to insert citations directly into their documents and to create a bibliography from those cited sources. The citations and bibliographies are formatted using any of the hundreds of citation style options.
Click on the image below to login to RefWorks 3, the most recent version
Zotero is a free, open source citation management tool which allows users to store, organize, edit, and/or create citations from a variety of resource types, including: articles, books, web pages, images, and more. Zotero:
- offers a plugin for Word and LibreOffice that allows users to insert citations directly into their documents and to create a bibliography.
- uses a link in your web browser (Firefox, Chrome, Safari) to identify and download citation information.
- produces citations and bibliographies in hundreds of citation styles (APA, Chicago, IEEE, MLA).
- identifies and stores article PDFs along with the citation information (up to 300 MB free).
- allows users to collaborate by creating and sharing group libraries.
Zotero is a free, open source citation management system.