You have over 300 databases available to you as a student at K-State - that can be a little overwhelming! However, databases are focused on different types of content and different subject areas. Below you will find a couple that are relevant to your research for this specific class.
ProQuest Research Library
Publication Dates Covered: 1971 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is a good starting point for finding journal articles on almost any topic. Over 150 academic subject areas are covered, and most articles are full-text. Searches can be limited to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
With indexes and abstracts to more than 600 journals, 300 of which also include full text articles, CMMC contains a Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing as well as over 3,000 author biographies.
Academic Search Premier
Publication Dates Covered: 1975 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
A good place to start searching for almost any topic. It provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Additional Research Databases
In addition to the specific databases above, below are databases that you may find helpful depending on what area you are focusing on for your research.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Access the full-text of documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include national and regional newspapers, wire services, and broadcast transcripts from around the world.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Includes full text for many dissertations written after 1996, including some master’s theses.
Google Scholar is a useful tool for searching through a very broad scope of articles; however, be aware that they aren’t actually all scholarly. Look for the text “Get It @ KSU” instead of the usual Get It button to search for the full text of articles that don’t have an included PDF. It is sometimes found under the “more” link below the record. You can read more about the Get It button in the box to the left.
News, News Bubbles, and Newspapers
Finding news information and newspapers (in print and online) can be a little tricky at times. We have a couple of resources to help with your searching.
Finding Online and Print Newspapers
Try our research guide about newspapers! It has information about searching the K-State Collegian, The Mercury, and other newspapers available at K-State Libraries.
Breaking Your News Bubble
This guide is designed to help you learn to be critical and thoughtful when reading and sharing news and also how to diversify your news sources.